22 Seconds in 1 Hour

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2021
Photo by James Pond on Unsplash

The math says that there are 3600 seconds in an hour. But today I experienced just 22 seconds in one.

My son and I decided to tackle a project over spring break that he’s wanted to do for a while. We mapped it out over the past few days and at 7:20 PM tonight we really got things going.

We wrapped things up an hour later, knowing we still had plenty to do. But we accomplished a lot in that hour. 22 seconds of footage, to be exact.

I’m making a stop motion LEGO film with my son.

And to get 22 seconds of that film completed, we needed an hour. I figure we’ll be needing a lot more hours to finish the project.

Why am I sharing this with you? What’s the point?

Sometimes putting in an hour only nets you a seemingly small amount of work done. But not all work is quantitative. Some of it is more qualitative than quantitative.

I haven’t looked into how long it takes to put together any sort of stop motion film, but through my experience today I bet it takes far longer than most people think. This is especially so when you have got a small and inexperienced crew, which I’d say my son and I definitely are.

Yet the end result – what the final product will look like – will be what really matters. It’ll have the impact that we want. It’s what we’re shooting for.

You’re not always going to feel as if an hour that you’ve spent working on something will feel like it’s yielded an hour’s worth of results. But when you build upon those hours on a consistent basis, then you’ll find that the results will be worth it.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now