Becoming Experts at Waiting

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
1 min readSep 5, 2020
Photo by Raquel García on Unsplash

Whenever we need a last minute ingredient for our meals, either my wife or myself walk down the block to our local general store. They offer a great selection of healthy foods that we can grab and get back to cooking.

We used to be able to grab those ingredients quickly, but now there is a line there every single day. They only allow two people in the store at a time (it’s a tiny shop) so there’s a lot of waiting going on.

One day I found myself at the front of the line while the shopkeeper came outside to refill a produce container. She apologized to me for the delay.

“Not a big deal,” I said. “It’s happening all over the place. I’ve gotten used to it.”

She smiled (I think…she was wearing a mask like me) and replied, “I guess we’re all becoming experts in waiting.”

We certainly are. I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing, either. Maybe we’ll have more patience with our progress, our productivity, and with other people as a result.

I’d like to think so. I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

(Good thing I’m becoming an expert at that.)

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now