Curiosity Over Contempt

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
1 min readMar 18, 2021
Photo by Joe Green on Unsplash

As I’ve gotten older I’ve decided to approach a lot of things a little differently. One such thing is how I question others or question situations that occur.

Rather than question them with contempt in mind, I ask questions with pure curiosity in mind.

Contempt can be nuanced — especially so when you are dealing with it in a questioning manner. You may not even realize that there is contempt in the way you’re asking a question.

Curiosity is a lot more straightforward. It demonstrates that you do want to understand and have a better perspective.

I don’t believe that contempt fosters either understanding or looking at things from a different perspective. It closes doors rather than opening them.

Whenever you question something, it’s better to approach it with curiosity over contempt. You’re going to grow a lot more and understand things a lot better when you take that approach.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now