How I Quit Drinking Soda Pop

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2020

--

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

On July 2nd, 2020 I decided to quit drinking soda pop for the last time. I tried to do this many times before in many different ways, but nothing stuck until this last time.

Here’s how I did it.

Targeted Focus

I believe the greatest factor for me in kicking the soda pop habit was targeting my focus on this single habit alone. I didn’t try to take anything else on during this time at the start of my quitting attempt. I focused solely on quitting soda. Only after 90 days did I even entertain the idea of taking on another bad habit (nail-biting). I know that if I tried anything else in the early stages, then I’d struggle in my desire to finally end my soda pop drinking for good. I’m really glad I kept my focus on one habit alone. It was the key to my success.

Tracking Daily

I used the tracking feature on The NOW Year Calendar to mark every day that I didn’t drink soda pop. I could see it on my wall every day- how long my streak was — and how far I’d come. It’s a tactic right out of the Jerry Seinfeld habit tracking handbook… and it works really well. Next to targeted focus, seeing my progress through tracking daily was a big help in breaking this bad habit.

Try Alternatives

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now