Malevolent Curiosity

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2021
Photo by Marija Zaric on Unsplash

I’m curious by nature. I think we all are to a degree.

But I find that I am more curious now than I was yesterday (and the day before that).

Maybe it’s because I’m older. Maybe it’s because I simply want to understand things better. I don’t know.

I do know that David Bowie was curious. Malevolently so, in fact.

“What I have is a malevolent curiosity. That’s what drives my need to write and what probably leads me to look at things a little askew. I do tend to take a different perspective from most people.”

But I do know that curiosity is a good thing, malevolent or otherwise. I’m constantly exploring and leaning into things that I am curious about. Things like time. Things like travel. Things like overall betterment of the self.

(Yeah, that’s a lot to be curious about.)

I wonder if setting aside some time to explore your curiosities would be a good use of your time. I think curiosity is one of those things that keeps us lively. If you want to be lively, then embrace being curious.

If you look at all of the different ways that David Bowie expressed himself over the years, there’s no doubt he was malevolently curious. I know there’s more avenues of life that I can explore and I’m not only curious about those elements, but I’m curious about where they will take me.

Is there something you’re curious about, but you’ve put off exploring? There’s no better time like the present to start that exploration. After all, you never know when your number is going to be called. Better to make and take time to explore the numerous things you can experience before that happens.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now