The Smart Ones

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2020
Photo by Natasha Connell on Unsplash

There are a lot of people whose work that I follow. The create work that really makes me think — and think deeply.

But if I had to pick the ones that I make sure I relentlessly keep up with, these would be the ones…

Derek Sivers

I’m working through his book Hell Yeah or No right now. There are a lot of things I know I should know in this book but fall victim to pushing those things aside more than I should. I want to get better at this and Derek writes in such a way that I feel I can get better at this.

Seth Godin

His daily writing has inspired my daily writing here. His book The Practice is another fantastic read. Seth always has something to share and while not every piece resonates as much as others I won’t let anything he ships slide past me because there’s just too much goodness there to pass up.

Austin Kleon

I don’t read Austin’s work daily, leaving that to Fridays when I get his weekly email. There’s just something about his writing that lands with me. Austin Kleon bills himself as a “writer who draws” and that has a double meaning. Because he doesn’t just draw things; he draws me in with his writing.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now