This is Getting Out of Hand

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2021

--

Photo by Zacke Feller on Unsplash

I believe that dismissing anything out of hand is a bad place to start.

Actually, it’s a bad idea altogether. When you dismiss something without considering it, then you remove the opportunity to grow. Consideration is one of the greatest gifts we have as human beings. We can consider things and then make decisions around those considerations.

But when you dismiss something without considering it, then you haven’t taken everything into account. That may mean you may lose out on an opportunity for a chance to grow… to learn something. And through learning, you can improve.

Whenever I work with someone as a productivity coach, I caution them against dismissing my philosophy and approach out of hand. I ask that they consider it and that they give me the opportunity to give them more to consider.

For example, on several occasions I’ve had people suggest that they could not possibly give a day a theme. They will tell me that their days are never the same or that they don’t have any control of what their days look like. But once I have a chance to give them more to consider, they realize that they might be doing some form of Daily Theming already. All I’m getting them to do is own that.

So the next time you see or hear something that you might be quick to dismiss out of hand I encourage you to consider it for just a little bit longer. You may find that you can take what you’ve learned and do something with it.

Maybe you can start with what you’ve just read.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now