When You’re Past The Wedding Phase

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
Nov 13, 2020
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

In September of 2019 my wife and I went to a wedding. Actually, just weeks prior to that we attended a wedding as well. Two weddings in the span of several weeks. It’s strange that, before these two, we hadn’t been to a wedding in about a decade. I guess it’s because we’re at a phase in our lives where most of the people we know are already married.

It’s these kind of events–either their frequency or “seldomness” that gets me thinking about what things you can generally expect to take place at certain phases in your life. In some cases, these things can be predictable.

When I was 30, I was married and my wife and I were expecting our daughter. It turns out that most males in North America are married by 30, but are not necessarily going to be fathers by that age.

But phases in life are a personal thing. So is productivity.

And what grabs your attention is also dependent on what phase of life you’re experiencing. I wouldn’t have been giving attention to anything related to exercise a few years ago, because I wasn’t interested in it. I would have had a different take on “life hacking” a few years ago than I do now. I don’t think I would have been able to extract insights related to time and attention from blog posts, audio programs and videos that aren’t directly about time and attention as readily even two years ago as I can today.

And I bet the same can be said for you.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now