Writing to Write

Mike Vardy
About Time
Published in
1 min readSep 14, 2020
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I’m glad you decided to read this.

But even if you hadn’t, I’m going to keep writing. I won’t stop.

That’s because I’m writing to write, not to be read.

Sure, it’s nice to know that my writing is being read, but I don’t want to get hung up on that. I could spend time checking my Medium stats and looking at other data to see how much of my work is being read (as well as how long it is being read and so on), but if I did that then I’d be losing time to write.

Writers write. I’m a writer, so I’m writing to write.

The fact that you read my writing is a nice – and appreciated – bonus.

The day I wrote this I discovered Ethan Hawke’s TED talk. Fitting.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now