I’m A Cancer Survivor, I’ve Never Flown, And Next Week I Leave For A Mission To Nepal

Mickell
Above + Beyond Cancer
3 min readSep 2, 2015

by Mickell Ebbers

On August 7th, 2014 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. At twenty-two years old I felt I was making a name for myself as an independent woman. I had a full time job, benefits, and I was going to school part time to finish my education. I was a workaholic. Everything that I did was to better myself as a consumer. I could never make enough money or work enough overtime.

Then I was diagnosed with cancer — the most enlightening experience of my life.

As a self-riotous “strong woman” I never doubted my recovery. I was always sure that I would get though chemotherapy; however, I did not realize how humbling my experience would become, and I did not realize at the time just how weak I really was.

On my twenty third birthday I went to the hospital to have my first chemotherapy session. I quickly learned that the medicine was stronger than I expected, and I realized treatment and recovery was going to be harder than I ever imagined.

I learned to accept that I could not take care of myself, my home, and my boyfriend like I used to. Allowing others to help me was the hardest part of this entire experience. There are not enough words in the English language to be able to express my genuine appreciation to all those who were there for me. From monetary donation to the dozens of people who attended a cancer walk wearing shirts with my name.

Cancer has also taught me that there is more to life than work. Since beginning remission my boyfriend and I have both vowed to pursue a healthier life style. Without a second though Nick carried me though all aspects of the cancer process, and even changed his own lifestyle to help my recovery, including quitting smoking after roughly ten years of addiction.

From food to fitness our life took a complete turn, and I understand this is the life that I must live if I choose to retain a higher chance of staying in remission.

With my new found wellness and zest for life I’ve decided the time has come to start giving back. Earlier this year I applied to be included on a mission trip to Nepal with Above + Beyond Cancer, an Iowa-based cancer survivorship non-profit with deep ties to Nepal dating back to a 2011 journey to Everest Base Camp with 14 cancer survivors and 10 caregivers. One week from today I’ll be headed to Kathmandu for mission work at the Bhaktapur Cancer Hospital following the devastating Nepal earthquakes in April. We will be bringing handmade quilts from Iowa, planting a garden, cleaning debris and visiting with cancer patients at the hospital to share our stories.

I am excited, grateful to be sponsored by Meredith CEO Steve Lacy, and honored to be selected for the trip.

I am also a little nervous because I’ve never flown on an airplane, and my first trip is to Chicago, then Istanbul, then Kathmandu. It’s a bold first step, but not unlike many other steps Nick and I have taken since my diagnosis.

As I wrote in my application to Above + Beyond Cancer: “I want to be a part of a group that will be able to assist each other the way my friends and family helped me when I was at my weakest. I want this experience to be the foundation in which I live out the rest of my life.”

In the spirit of giving back I have also committed to raising funds for our local YMCA cancer survivorship program. The funds will be used to support YMCA classes for cancer survivors like me who want to live a healthy lifestyle and move beyond their cancer diagnosis. You can help support he program here: https://www.crowdrise.com/NickandMickellNepalFundraiser.

--

--