About me

Ranwa Zahr
Abs & Brownies
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2020

--

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always had a love-love relationship with food. It never crossed into the love-hate zone at any time. I’m Lebanese-Syrian, and one of the core pillars of our culture is food. I mean come on, if a culture is built on it, you can’t expect a meager human to stray from the set path. I’m that one kid / teen / adult in the pictures that’s either at the dining table, holding food, buying food or mid-bite. Actually, if I was to accurately describe my trip to Florence a few years ago, I would say imagine an edition of Pac Man munching his way through Pasta, Pizza, Steak Florentine, Gelato and Tiramisu. I’d be Pac Man, and the game board would be Florence. For 6 full days. For every meal of the day, and the 3 snacks in between each meal.

My brother and I enjoying some hot Knefe in Lebanon in the freezing winter.

I remember all the warnings mom gave me about having too many grilled cheese sandwiches or cupcakes in one day that I completely ignored. Let’s just say that all that cheese, honey, sugar and bread (oh my heart, bread) caught up with me in high school then again in Freshman year at uni, then again after graduation and whenever I got too comfortable for my own good.

No gathering for a picture was going to stop me from having my sandwich.

A couple of family health scares and an injury or two later and I decided to take matters into my own hands and make the food I want to eat because you see, I had a manufacturer glitch in me, I hated most leafy greens and therefore almost all salads. So all those laughing fit people in salad ads will never be me if I don’t do something about it.

Salad? Ha! gimme a burger please.

And so, I read up a lot on food and nutrition and what’s good for you and what’s good for the type of lifestyle you lead, and so I adapted. I learnt how to cook and bake and roast and meal prep like a boss, and picked up a few hobbies that kept me active and fit (more on that later).

Feeding myself turned to feeding me and my brother, and my colleagues (occasionally), and my loved ones, and I just decided to start sharing this home-cooked goodness with others.

--

--