Homemade Granola

Ranwa Zahr
Abs & Brownies
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2020

--

Over the years I’ve graduated my love for Cereal as follows:

Nesquik and Frosties to regular Corn Flakes to Weetabix to Special K and finally to Cheerios. When I kept digging into the fine print on the nutritional labels, I kept getting out off, plus they all had weird chemicals and additives for preservation and god knows what else.

So much goodness here

That’s when I then transitioned to Granola chunks, which were I live, felt ridiculously overpriced. And so I unfortunately cut granola out of my life because it wasn’t cost effective.

After preparing my favorite oatmeal and crumbles for a few months, I realized that I have all the ingredients to make my own granola, and after a few test runs, I found the mix that works best for me. It’s super simple and easy to make and you probably have all the ingredients in your pantry. Plus it’s super versatile and substitutes can be adapted for almost anything. Here you go.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats (please don’t use instant oats)
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp dried coconut
  • 3 tbsp almond slivers
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds (shelled)
  • Half a cup of walnuts or pecans broken to pieces
  • 2 tbsp honey / brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 170C / 340F
  • Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl
  • Add wet ingredients, mix them until honey and coconut oil is evenly distributed
  • Line a baking tray / pyrex glass dish with parchment paper, and pour in the oatmeal mixture, and press it in really tight with the back of a spoon or a spatula. Should be around 1–2 cm thick.
  • Bake for 20–25 minutes, until top is golden, then leave it outside the oven to cool down
  • Break it up into small pieces and pour into a glass jar once done, et voila, you have yourself some homemade granola!

--

--