Bhrigu Lake Trek- Himachal

Amar Shukla
absoluteresolution
Published in
7 min readJul 9, 2022

(Next day story link at the bottom)

In the month of June,2022 summer was at peak in Delhi-NCR region and due to covid I had not done any trek or even travelled for last 3 years. For the last few months travel restrictions are over and I was thinking to go for a short trek which requires lesser office leaves. I kept googling for many days and came up with 2 options, Beas Kund Trek and Bhrigu Lake Trek. I googled further to understand the detailed itinerary, scrolled through images and reviews on many sites and finally chose Bhrigu Lake trek. I decided it randomly on 23rd June, 2022 that I should go for this trek to witness the meadows, glacial lake and mountain views. I did a quick google to find out which all camping orgs are running this trek, what are reviews and cost. I finally decided to book through thrillophilia. Although I didn’t know that Thrillophilia is actually a broker who earns commision and it passes your booking to some local trek organizer (I was in hurry so could not go in depth and missed this important information). I filled up form at Thrillophilia website and soon got a call from agent to book the trek. They offered Delhi-Manali-Delhi package with entire trek cost for INR 8600. Based on my past experiences, I am always suspicious on private operated bus quality, the restaurant where they stop bus for dinner and delay in arrival/departure. I asked them which agency bus you will provide if I book through your package, on this the operator response was “ We have many operators but we are not aware which travel agency bus will be provided. This is known to only operations team and you will get to know only on travel date”. Such replies seems fishy to me hence I asked him to provide cost for the trek only, Bus I will arrange on my own. Finally he gave an estimate of INR 5000 which includes camping, food, guide cost. Only extra money one has to spend on the items which he/she wants to borrow on rent. In the end of the blog I will write in detail what all things to carry, borrow, etc., which might help you if you are a beginner trekker. Finally on same day first I searched for bus availability from ISBT, Delhi to Manali for the next day on makemytrip and booked the ticket. On confirmation, I booked another ticket for returning journey (Manali to Delhi) for 27th June (3 days trek). via redbus.in. There is a reason why I am mentioning the details of portals so that I could share my experience about both these portals. Once I got assured that I have the tickets in hand for entire journey, I booked the Trek via Thrillophilia for upcoming trek which was starting on Saturday (25th June) morning. Once I paid and got confirmation receipt, I got to know the truth that trek will be conducted by HimTrek which is located at clubhouse road, Old Manali. I enquired for HimTrek contacts so that I can talk to them directly, on which Thrillo replied saying you will get all details 24 hours before the trek date (I was not convinced with such service assurance but had no choice left). I double checked with Thrillo that buses usually run late and arrive late so what would be the trek starting timing and will they go ahead without me if the bus gets delayed by say an hour? to which Thrillo agent responded that day-one is not a big distance and trek starts at 10 AM but it can be managed till 11 AM without any issue so you don’t need to worry about it. I felt okay at this moment but I needed these words from HimTrek directly as by now I had understood that Thrillo is just a broker and they have got the money so they should not be bothering much about you. I finally slept hoping everything to be good the next evening.

24th June (Friday evening)

I booked a cab and reached the private volvo bus stand (opposite to ISBT bus stand, Metro gate no 4 ) well ahead in time and I had total 2.5 hours to kill. I roamed nearby (Metro, ISBT station) and caught the bus on time. There was a couple who landed from Denmark and it was their first visit to India. They carried their bicycles from their home via flight and now they were onboarding the bus with them. Bus helper guy was unable to fit the cycles in the bus luggage cabin .. people were in the queue to handle their luggage to this guy but guy was helplessly trying to fit these two bicycles. Couple clearly was feeling awkward that people are getting delayed coz of their cycle and it was visible on their face. I and few other people assured them that its okay if its taking time and no need to feel bad about it, this somehow made them relaxed and finally the guy himself ( with the wrench) fixed the issue and bus started the journey. This was a Laxmi holidays Semi sleeper volvo which costed me INR 1732 (Delhi-Manali). Bus was neat and clean, on time and had charging point near by window seat (1 charging point for 2 passengers) but you have to bow down completely to plug the charger which is a very bad design. A young guy boarded and his seat was beside me, this was going to be a long 14 hours journey and I needed someone to talk and also to be assured that someone knows that you are in the bus so that in case the bus stops for food or tea at some point, you don’t get left alone while bus departures. This happens frequently in bus journey. So if someone knows that you are left behind he/she can immediately inform driver about it and they contact you on mobile to pick you up. I initiated the conversation with him and exchanged a quick introduction like name, profession, solo travelling is hobby or need (friends not getting leaves at same time when you get and vice-versa). His name was X (let’s assume, I forgot, silly me :D) and he just completed his graduation from DU and waiting for the joining day in corporate. He informed that his college friends are already in Manali and he will join them on Saturday and they will go for bike ride towards Leh-Ladakh. So now I had a friend for this 14 hour journey and I was bit relaxed. Bus left at around 7 PM (delayed by cycle issue for 15 minutes) and stopped for dinner at around 8:45 PM at Shiva dhaba in Murthal. This was the best part of this bus journey as it is a well known dhaba (restaurant). In India usually all bus agencies have tie-ups with local food restaurants and take commision for stopping the bus there and so usually the restaurants which serve stale food or not so tasty food, usually end up paying these bus agencies to get the customers. I was very happy to see that our bus is stopped at Shiva dhaba. There was much rush as usual on this food joint and it got us worried as our order was not yet processed for last 15 minutes, bus stops only for 30 minutes so we were continuously asking manager to either serve us or let us revert it back as bus will depart anytime soon. Finally manager made some effort and we got served, dinner was delicious.

Bus again stopped in morning for 30 minutes for tea and refreshment. By this time we were in Mandi district of Himachal Pradesh state. Morning was fresh with cool breeze (Not much cold but much better than the Delhi temperature). We finally reached Manali at 09:45 AM which is 45 minutes delayed than the schedule but I already assumed 1 hour delay based on past exp. I forgot to mention in between I had received the contact number of local guide of Himtrek who wa supposed to manage our trek. I called him but due to poor signal we were unable to talk so I told him on whatsapp that I am coming for Bhrigu lake trek and provided all the details and also informed him that based on Thrillo info trek will start at 10–11 AM and hence I have got the bus which will arrive Manali at 10 AM approx ( I took the buffer time as bus usually gets delayed). On which Himtrek guy responded one liner saying trek starts at 9 AM, this made me worried a bit but I then thought I already have both way tickets and if something like missing the trek happens due to bus delay, I will spend my 3 days somewhere in nearby village in homestay so I had nothing to lose. I needed those 3 days off the work, in the lap of nature, Himalayas and peace. As soon as I reached Manali, there were many taxi drivers inside stand premise, I showed the Himtrek office (basecamp) location on google map but driver was bit confused so I called up Himtrek number and asked taxi driver to discuss the location on phone call. Driver understood and confirmed me that he got aware of location and he asked for INR 300 and said its standard rate, you may bargain with other taxi drivers or get cheap auto. I was already in hurry as bus was delayed so I didn’t negotiate further and got inside cab. It took hardly 15 minutes to reach the basecamp and I was relieved to know that no one has reached yet and trek will start probably after 30 minutes.

`Him Trek Basecamp

Read next part here

--

--