My totally subjective and shamelessly poppy top 10 songs of 2014

Amy Fox
Abstract Magazine
Published in
4 min readDec 24, 2014

No more apologising for loving pop music — here are Amy Fox’s favourite ten songs of the last year.

Nicki Minaj at the 2014 AMAs. Photo: Flickr/Disney | ABC Television Group

Does anyone else ever feel like they have to be apologetic when they describe their own music tastes? As an adult, when someone asks what kind of music I’m into, I usually assume that what they want to hear is something impressive sounding like “I’m really into electro-jazz right now” or “I’ve just discovered this amazing new experimental folk-rock artist, she’s going to be huge”. Basically the kind of thing my dad, brothers and ex-boyfriends say.

Instead, I usually cringe a bit and admit, “I basically have the same taste as a 14-year-old, it’s all One Direction and Taylor Swift…”

Well guess what? 2015 is the year of no longer apologising for not having the same opinions as default men. So I present to you, without shame or regret, my ten favourite songs of this year.

And One Direction didn’t even make the list!

10. Fancy by Iggy Azalea

Feud with Azealia Banks aside*, this is a great song, especially when sung at the top of your voice every time someone accidentally says the word “fancy”.

* If you listen to a lot of hip hop, rap or R&B then you should read up on the racial politics behind that argument, because as a white fan of a lot of black-oriented music, it’s important to understand and acknowledge where it comes from.

9. She Looks So Perfect by 5 Seconds of Summer

Okay, I wasn’t lying when I said that there’s no 1D on this list, but that’s because 5 Seconds of Summer (AKA 5SoS, AKA Little One Direction) released the better album this year. Their first single to really get noticed, She Looks So Perfect, is still my favourite. Is the American Apparel name-dropping the epitome of all capitalist evil infecting the music industry, or is the song actually an ironic Marxist anthem the likes of which we haven’t seen since that song about Scrooge in The Muppets Christmas Carol? Only time will tell.

8. All About That Bass by Meghan Trainor

It’s become hard to discuss this song without addressing those “skinny bitches” issues. So let me just say for the record that as a woman whose metabolism and body type mean that I’m a natural size 8, I’m not offended by “skinny bitches” in the context of a song which is celebrating curvy women. And even though someone calling me a skinny bitch to my face would probably hurt my feelings, it still wouldn’t come close to the damage caused to ALL women by a fat-shaming society.

7. If I Could Change Your Mind by HAIM

Just LOOK at them, with their hair down to their knees and their synchronised dancing. Perfect.

6. Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars

Let’s be honest, who would want romantic crooner Bruno Mars when we could have FUNKY PINK BLAZER MICHAEL JACKSON Bruno Mars?

5. Bang Bang by Jessie J, Ariana Grande & Nicki Minaj

I would have loved this song even if it was just Jessie J and Ariana Grande belting out their lines and extending all their vowels. But then Nicki comes in and just cleans up. I also have a theory that this song is a feminist retelling of Blurred Lines which is all about consent. Listen to the refrain “I know you want it/I’ll let you have it” and tell me otherwise. I DARE YOU.

4. Girls Chase Boys by Ingrid Michaelson

One of my favourite genderfucking, “sexuality is a spectrum”, deliciously feminist songs and videos of the year. The men look great in make up, Ingrid looks amazing in that blazer, the song has been stuck in my head all year.

3. Chandelier by Sia

Anyone who’s ever had to just power through an evening despite all of their fears and anxieties holding them back should find something to love about this song. And if you haven’t seen the video yet then I don’t want to spoil anything but it will blow your mind.

2. Blank Space by Taylor Swift

If you love outfit changes, misandry and male-gaze shattering looks at the camera, these final two songs are for you. In second place is Taylor Swift, owning her reputation as a serial maneater and taking it to a whole new level. Never change, Taylor. Never change.

1. Anaconda by Nicki Minaj

Hands down my favourite song of the year. If this Autostraddle article doesn’t convince you that she is one of the best, most subversive feminist artists in the media right now, then just watch her chop up that phallic banana and slap away Drake’s hand the minute he tries to touch her. Don’t think for a second that she’s not 100% in control of everything that’s happening around her, or that she’s not entirely doing it for her own pleasure. And her maniacal laugh punctuating it all is just pure heaven.

Originally published at abstractmag.com on December 24, 2014.

--

--

Amy Fox
Abstract Magazine

Writer at @TheDay_News. Feminist knitting designer. Views mine.