Carla Hadland
Acadium Digital Marketing Apprenticeships
4 min readMar 18, 2019

--

Sarah Minor graduated from the University of Alabama after studying graphic design and sculpture, but it was losing her job that really fuelled her drive to improve her marketing skills.

We asked her about her experience doing multiple apprenticeships, and how she sees her future career (which she definitely doesn’t see happening between the traditional hours of 9am — 5pm).

Hi Sarah! So first, tell us — how did you find GenM?

Well, I had lost my job and wanted to grow my business. My motivation was to get clients so that I’d stay afloat while I was suffering the job loss. I ended up finding GenM and getting an apprenticeship.

That helped get over the hump, which also drove me to want more. I thought, “I’m really good at this AND I can make money doing it.” I knew I needed to continue to do well, so I grabbed a hold of as many apprenticeships I could do to make a full-time job.

The versatility of the types of mentors you receive made it that much more appealing, too.

What was your main reason for wanting to do an online digital marketing apprenticeship?

Firstly, marketing is a huge part of getting my name out there and being recognized as someone trustworthy in the business. Second, graphic design involves creating beautiful graphics for ads, social media, etc. As I need to know what’s popular, marketing is the way to go.

What apprenticeships have you completed and who with?

I did 8 apprenticeships, from social media agencies, career strategists, TV networks, education providers, digital marketing agencies, language translators, to even a lawyer-turned-comedian!

From these apprenticeships I’ve gained experience in so many areas of digital marketing.

From search advertising to marketing analytics; brand creation to website design; graphic design to content marketing and SEO; marketing automation to paid advertising; market research; social media… and more importantly, time management!

What digital marketing experience did you have when you applied for your apprenticeship?

I had some experience in SEO and web and graphic design.

What are your top tips for students looking to secure an apprenticeship through GenM?

1. Don’t settle.

Find a mentor that will teach you what you need to learn.

2. Only work 5–10 hours.

No more! When you sign a contract with GenM it’s for 5-10 hours a week, for a duration of 3 months.

3. Focus.

Try to do only one apprenticeship at a time. This way you’ll get the most out of it and can give them all of your focus.

Favorite marketing tool(s) you use in your work?

MailChimp, AgoraPulse, Asana, and Canva are my favorite tools! They make my job so much easier.

What’s your dream job?

To make a difference around the world and to be able to travel the world and take my business with me.

I was never meant for a 9-5 job.

I am an explorer and I need to see what is out there in the world so I can make it better. Even if I only become the female Banksy, it’s better than staring at a computer screen all day doing a job you hate.

What are your next steps?

Continue to grow and learn as much as possible. I will always strive to be better today than I was yesterday. It’s a never-ending motion for me. I also have my own company where I provide design services and social media marketing.

If you are looking to build your digital marketing portfolio and acquire in-demand skills, GenM can help! Sign up at genm.co or download the app for iPhone and Android and start searching for an apprenticeship today!

*This article was written by a GenM apprentice. 😊

--

--