GenM Student Success: How one GenM student secured 5 apprenticeships

Carla Hadland
Acadium Digital Marketing Apprenticeships
3 min readMar 12, 2019

Nevaeh Montville is a digital marketing superstar. With 4 apprenticeships under her belt and a 5th one currently being completed, she knows how to make the most of what GenM has to offer — and she hasn’t even left high school yet!

We asked her how she managed to be so successful in securing her apprenticeships, and if she has any tips for current and future students to make their apprenticeships a success.

Hi Nevaeh! Tell us, how did you find GenM?

When I first came across GenM in 2018 I was looking to expand my blog and digital audience, with the end goal being to attend a college for the creative arts and pursue a career in acting, screenwriting and producing.

What was your main reason for wanting to do an online digital marketing apprenticeship?

I wanted to gather hands-on experience within the marketing industry to help build my digital marketing portfolio.

What apprenticeships have you completed and who with?

I have completed apprenticeships with various companies, from real estate agencies, companies specializing in marketing solutions; filmmakers and right now, a health strategist (Dr. Ali Griffith).

Through these apprenticeships, I’ve gained so much experience, including content marketing, market research, analytics, email marketing, social media, graphic design, and brand creation.

What digital marketing experience did you have when you applied for your apprenticeship?

When I started applying for apprenticeships I had only basic influencer marketing and content creation experience. Now I work as a self-employed freelancer, blogger, and writer… and I’m still at high school!

What are your top 3 tips for students looking to secure an apprenticeship through GenM?

1. Be yourself.

There are hundreds of other students who are looking at the same mentor; you want to be able to stand out from the crowd. And what better way to do that then being your own unique self!

2. Find common interests

When choosing a mentor, choose someone with who you share common interests whilst being someone you can learn from. An apprenticeship should be mutually beneficial for both parties.

3. Don’t rush & do your research.

Take the time to look at a mentor’s social media, to hear what they have to say, and weigh up your options.

4. Be prepared.

Don’t walk into a meeting blindfolded! Research the company, their mission and get to know their digital presence. Coming in prepared shows that you are responsible and self-motivated — two things most mentors look for in an apprentice.

Favorite marketing tool(s) you use in your work?

I like Canva, Hootsuite, Pexels, and Facebook Business!

What’s your dream job?

Currently, my dream job would be to be an author or producer. Or something within the creative arts. However, for the time being, I am pursuing digital marketing and venturing into a wider variety of fields.

What are your next steps after this apprenticeship?

GenM has opened my eyes and allowed me to see all the endless possibilities there are within this field.

My next step is building my personal brand, and seeking a high-positioned marketing job — or even starting my own marketing agency.

If you are looking to build your digital marketing portfolio and acquire in-demand skills, GenM can help! Sign up at genm.co or download the app for iPhone and Android and start searching for an apprenticeship today!

*This article was written by a GenM apprentice. 😊

--

--