GenM Student Success: How this Beginner Became an Expert and Landed His Dream Job

Jordan Edward Morrow started his apprenticeship with the goal of upskilling. Instead, not only was he able to build his portfolio and learn more about marketing, he also got to start his dream career and land a job that he now loves.

We talked to Jordan about his experience as an apprentice and asked him about the things he learned and loved. Here is his story along with a few tips for future GenM digital marketing students.

Hey Jordan! Can you tell us why you wanted to do an online marketing apprenticeship?

I wanted to do an apprenticeship to better my digital marketing skills for the job I had at the time.

Now, I have multiple articles, infographics, and actual pages of websites written by me and published online that I’ve added to my resumé.

This apprenticeship not only added to my portfolio, but also landed me my dream job.

Who did you apprentice with and what skills did you gain?

I was an apprentice for Chloe Spencer at Moxie Global.

From here, I learned how to do email marketing, content marketing, market research, and marketing analytics. I also gained intermediate knowledge of SEO marketing and copywriting.

How much digital marketing experience did you have before your apprenticeship?

I was a beginner — I only knew social media.

Photo by Jessica Lewis on Unsplash

Can you share some of your top tips for GenM students who want to secure an apprenticeship?

1. Ask questions.

Ask questions as frequently as possible –it’s better to do so than making mistakes that could potentially result in the loss of a client.

2. Don’t do more than asked.

There are positions for everything, and every job has designated responsibilities. Just because you weren’t asked to do something doesn’t mean that it’s not going to get done or that it isn’t done already. If you’re concerned, just ask.

3. Read.

If you are putting ten hours a week for three months out of the year, then you might as well buy books and expand your knowledge! When I had to write the copy for a cancer care center, I researched and bought three of the most useful copywriting books I could find. Not that I’m not creative or a bad writer, but those books were written for a reason.

So, read!

What are your favorite marketing tools?

I really enjoyed using Majestic — an online tool used to measure the trust flow of websites.

What is your dream job?

This. Pretty much anything that has to do with writing. I guess it would be writing for a fantasy-like project since I’m a big nerd. Or a project based one around food — like a recipe book. That would be pretty interesting.

What’s next for you?

Cool thing is, since I worked my hardest and put my all into it,

I got hired before the apprenticeship was even over!

Why waste anyone’s time if you aren’t looking to grow? I took advantage of every potential knowledge-gaining moment to ask questions and take notes and better understand what I was doing. I also took note of how it was important to the work we were doing, and how it would benefit me as a transferable skill for my future jobs.

If you are looking to build your digital marketing portfolio and acquire in-demand skills, GenM can help! Sign up at genm.co/student or download the app for iPhone and Android and start searching for an apprenticeship today!

--

--

Sydney Arin Go
Acadium Digital Marketing Apprenticeships

Content marketing manager @ Animalz ✍️ Which means I write things that sometimes make sense.