An Ambitious Person’s Brutally Honest Take On Work-Life Balance

Photo Credit: Evan Kirby

Author’s Note: This article was written over 60 hours with love and care using the blockbuster mental model. If you like my writing style, and you want to create high-quality viral content using the blockbuster approach, you’ll love my Blockbuster Blueprint newsletter, which delivers three in-depth articles every week.

We hit rock bottom. Now, we’re happily married 12 years. Here’s what I learned.

Jim was both a serial entrepreneur and a serial husband.

In his early 60s, he was on his sixth wife and third company. He was about 70 pounds overweight.

I happened to sit next him for dinner at an entrepreneurship conference. At age 28, I had just become a father, and I asked him a deep question that I was struggling with. “You have a 70-million-dollar company. Looking back, could you have been a better husband and parent and still built such a successful company?”

His answer was both short and shocking: “Can a woman be half pregnant?”

I smiled politely and gave an uncomfortable laugh. In my head, I thought to myself, “Bullshit! I will prove you wrong!”

That was nine years ago. Today, my daughter is 9, and my son is 7. Looking back on that…

--

--

Michael Simmons (blockbuster.thoughtleader.school)
Accelerated Intelligence

I teach people to learn HOW to learn / Serial entrepreneur / Bestselling author / Contributor: Time, Fortune, and Harvard Business Review)