I’m 36, and I just realized a timeless truth I missed all this time

A weird but cool combination of Jeff Bezos and aging studies that will make you think differently about aging.

Author’s Note: This article was written over 60 hours with love and care using the blockbuster mental model. If you like my writing style, and you want to create high-quality viral content using the blockbuster approach, you’ll love my Blockbuster Blueprint newsletter, which delivers three in-depth articles every week.

My daughter is 9. I am 36.

She is halfway to becoming an adult. I am halfway through my life.

I’m young enough to be laughed out of the room by a 60-year-old for agonizing over the shortness of life. But I’m old enough to think of college students as kids.

I see my mom and mentors grapple with the common end we are all marching toward, and I can no longer deny that I am marching in the same procession. I can see crow’s feet forming around my eyes. I’ve got mild and persistent back pain. Last week, I tweezed my first white hair. My right pointer finger doesn’t bend all of the way, and I’m not sure it ever will.

So I wonder: “What’s the proper stance toward the second half of my life?”

--

--

Michael Simmons (blockbuster.thoughtleader.school)
Accelerated Intelligence

I teach people to learn HOW to learn / Serial entrepreneur / Bestselling author / Contributor: Time, Fortune, and Harvard Business Review)