Top AI Experts Predict Artificial General Intelligence In 3–5 Years. Now What?

Personal Note: Artificial General Intelligence (AGI) will be the most important technological innovation in human history. It is happening in a few years, and it will change everything for everyone.

Against all odds, we happen to be alive to witness this historic moment.

When I was in high school in the late 1990s, I remember reading books like Profiles of the Future: An Inquiry into the Limits of the Possible by author Arthur C Clarke and The Age of Spiritual Machines: When Computers Exceed Human Intelligence by futurist Ray Kurzweil. These books painted wondrous pictures of possibilities that exploded my adolescent mind.

At the same time, I hated the idea that I had to wait decades for these innovations.

Well, sci-fi is now a reality.

And, as the saying goes, be careful what you wish for. The only thing that we can confidently say about the future is that it will be incredibly tumultuous. Every person will need to become a super adapter in order to keep up with the radical change.

Frankly, I’m still processing what I think about it, and this article is me learning and thinking out loud. I offer more questions than answers.

--

--

Michael Simmons (blockbuster.thoughtleader.school)
Accelerated Intelligence

I teach people to learn HOW to learn / Serial entrepreneur / Bestselling author / Contributor: Time, Fortune, and Harvard Business Review)