#OpenDoors: A Seat at the Table with Nabou Fall, Managing Director of Vizeo

TheBoardroom Africa
TheBoardroom Africa
3 min readNov 7, 2019

Nabou Fall is Managing Director of Vizeo, an agency that supports large companies in their communication and public relations strategy in Africa and counts First Bank Nigeria, Western Union, UBA, and CANAL+ among its customers. Mrs. Fall is also a member of the Senegalese Investors Club and President of the Women Investment Club of Ivory Coast.

She is also co-founder of I Hope Cote d’Ivoire and involved in the management of Wimnet, a foundation dedicated to African women’s empowerment. She has served in board roles at two African telecommunications companies and current serves on the advisory board of a Ghana-based NGO as well as an investment fund based in Dubai launching in 2020. Mrs. Fall recently participated in Open Doors, TBR Africa’s flagship accredited board training program.

When and why did you join TBR Africa?

I joined TheBoardroom Africa in early 2019 because I knew I needed something to truly gain confidence but in reality it was training I needed, knowledge & clarity on how to find my voice in the boardroom. And when I saw The Boardroom Africa program I knew it was a match for my needs.

Mrs. Fall at Open Doors 2019 in Mauritius

What was your biggest highlight at Open Doors?

I truly enjoyed getting to meet the other brilliant women participating in the program and hearing their diverse experiences. They were candid and generously shared their stories. Their energy and positivity created a supportive environment that will go beyond the program and bond us for life.

Beyond the network, I also benefited from the classes — particularly the modules on finance, which went beyond the numbers to focus on the “why” of mechanisms and processes. Learning is a curve that never stops.

How did Open Doors change the way you work and see the world going forward?

The program taught me how to put things in perspective and sharpened my understanding of the need for objectivity in order to maintain a clear view of the path ahead. While the material was at times challenging, I emerged from this experience confident that I have the skills and tools to serve on any board and that my voice deserves to be heard.

I was impressed by the caliber of the speakers, particularly Mrs. Ibokun Awosika, Chairwoman of First Bank of Nigeria. With her decades of experience, she took the lessons of the classroom to a new level while infusing her speech with the realities of African cultures. These real-life experiences not only taught me about how to tackle the realities of the boardroom, but inspired me to be a more active, capable board member.

What was your impact pledge and why is this important to you?

I pledged to pay it forward by training more women in my own personal network on leadership, an extension of something I do already and will continue to do. This experience helped me realize the importance of being confident enough to make your voice count and I hope to share that message with others, particularly other female executives.

Why would you recommend Open Doors?

Executive women should take this course not only to shine, but also to improve their decision making. With so few women in senior board roles, we each must strive to show the value of our diverse perspectives. The better our decisions and the louder our voices, the more likely we are to improve women’s representation in business and create more seats at the table. The Open Doors training is an important first step on that journey.

--

--

TheBoardroom Africa
TheBoardroom Africa

Improving business performance through boardroom gender diversity #TBRA #TheBoardroomAfrica #GenderDiversity