חוסר הרמוניה,
Discord

*accent
accent
Published in
5 min readJan 19, 2019

Nadav Raziel

כשאנו מתחילים דברים חדשים בחיים וחווים דברים שאנחנו לא רגילים אליהם, אנחנו לעיתים קרובות חווים קשיים בהתחלה. אם זה להתחיל אוניברסיטה, לעבור לגור במדינה אחרת או להתחיל עבודה חדשה, לוקח לנו זמן להתרגל לשינויים ולא הכל הולך ישר כמו שאנחנו רוצים ורגילים. החוויה שאני חוויתי בה קושי בהתחלה ושפחות ״זרמה״ לי היא תחילת השירות הצבאי שלי.

בתור אזרח ישראלי, חלה עליי חוות שירות צבאי של שנתיים ושמונה חודשים. בזמן התיכון, תלמידים מזומנים על ידי הצבא למיונים ומבחנים על סמך נתונים פיזיים ואקדמיים על מנת לקבוע את תפקידם בשירות הצבאי.

אני, בתור אלוף המדינה בסקווש לנוער בזמנו וחבר בנבחרת ישראל לבוגרים, התקבלתי לתוכנית צבאית לספורטאים מצטיינים. במסגרת התוכנית, הספורטאים מקבלים תנאים מיוחדים שמאפשרים להם להמשיך להתאמן ולהתחרות בענף הספורט שלהם במקביל לשירות הצבאי שלהם. עם זאת, הספורטאים מחויבים לעבור טירונות, האימון הראשוני של כל חייל, שבו הם לומדים את החוקים הצבאיים, משמעת צבאית, מבנה הצבא וכו’. הטירונות נמשכת בין מספר שבועות למספר חודשים ונחשבת לחוויה קשה ומחשלת וכוללת שהייה בתנאים קשים, מטלות לא נעימות ועוד.
כשאני הגעתי בהתחלה לטירונות קיבלתי שוק. אין לי אחים גדולים שיכלו להכין אותי למה לצפות והייתי הראשון מבין חבריי להתגייס אז הגעתי לשם מבלי שום ידע מוקדם. בימים הראשונים סבלתי מאוד ולא הצלחתי להתאקלם לשיגרה החדשה. ראשית כל, כללי המשמעת והסדר היו נוקשים מאוד ושונים ממה שהייתי רגיל בבית, וכמובן שבצבא אין ברירה אלא לציית. שנית כל, תנאי המחייה היו לא פשוטים וגם כן שונים לגמרי ממה שהייתי רגיל בבית: לישון באוהל עם עוד עשרה אנשים, אוכל פחות טעים ממה שיש לי בבית, מעט שעות שינה בלילה, לוז עמוס במשימות ומטלות ועוד. התקשיתי למצוא את המקום שלי ולהתרגל לשגרה החדשה.

למזלי, היו לי כמה אנשים שעזרו לי לעבור את הימים הקשים. אחד החברים שלי מהנבחרת גם כן התקבל לתוכנית של הספורטאים המצטיינים ובמקרה התגייס באותו יום כמוני והוצב באותו בסיס כמו שלי ככה שיצא לי לראות אותו לא מעט ויכולנו לתמוך אחד בשני. בנוסף, בסוף כל יום, קיבלנו שעה אחת לצרכים אישיים שהיינו יכולים לנצל להתקשר למשפחה ולחברים בבית. השיחות טלפון האלה עזרו לי מאוד וקיבלתי כוחות מחודשים.

עם זאת, חשוב לי לציין כי עברתי גם חוויות טובות בטירונות שלי. פגשתי אנשים שונים מרקע שונה ומקומות שונים בישראל שאולי לא יוצא לי לפגוש ביום יום איפה שאני גר. בנוסף, עברתי גם דברים שכן נהניתי כמו ללמוד להשתמש בנשק, ללמוד דברקים חדשים על צבאות וביטחון לאומי באופן כללי וליצור חברויות עם אנשים חדשים.

עוד נקודה חשובה היא, שלמרות הקשיים שעברתי, החוויה הכללית היתה משהו שאני כן זוכר לחיוב. למרות שההתחלה כן היתה קשה, ככל שעבר הזמן כן מצאתי את המקום שלי וזכיתי לעשות דברים שאנשים בגילי במקומות אחרים לא זכו לעבור. אומרים שמה שלא הורג מחשל, אז אם אני כותב את החיבור הזה כנראה שהחוויה הזאת רק חישלה אותי והפכה אותי לאדם בוגר וחזק יותר.

When we start new things ion life and experience things we are not used to, we often experience difficulties at first. Whether it is starting university, moving to a different country or starting a new job, it takes us some time to adjust to changes and it doesn’t always go as smooth as we thought and want. we want and used to. The experience I had difficulties with and experienced my discord is the beginning of my military service.
As an Israeli citizen, I have a 2 years and 8 month of mandatory military service. During high school, students are invited by the army for a series of tests according to their physical and academic data in order to decide their role.

I, as the Junior’s national squash champion at the time and a member of the Israeli seniors’ national team, was accepted to a special program for exceptional athletes. This program allows athletes to keep training and competing in their sports throughout their military service by giving the athletes better conditions. However, this program still requires going through the army’s first training like any other soldier, where the soldiers and taught the military rules, disciple, structure etc. The first training takes between couple of weeks and couple of months and is considered to be a tough experience which includes living in tough conditions, unpleasant chores and so on.

When I first started my first training, I was shocked. I have no older siblings who have been through this before and I was the first one out of my group of friends who started the first training so I didn’t actually know what to expect. In the first few days I really suffered, mentally and physically and just couldn’t adjust to the new routine. First of all, the rules and the disciple were really different than what I was used to at home, and obviously you have no choice in the army but to obey. Second, the conditions were really tough and again, different than what I was use to at home: sleeping in a tent with ten other strangers (by the end of the training they were definitely not strangers), bad food, not enough sleep, busy schedule of tasks and chores, etc. I really struggled to find my place and to get used to my new life.

Luckily, I had some people who supported me and helped go through these tough days. One of my friends from the national team who was also accepted to the program was based in my base and started the same day I did so we got to see each other quite a lot and we helped each other. In addition, at the end of every day, there is one hour for personal needs that can be used for calling friends and family back home. These phone calls really helped me and gave me a lot of strength.

Nonetheless, I do want to mention that I also had some good experiences in my first training. I got to meet people from different backgrounds in Israel and I usually don’t meet in my daily life where I live. In addition, I went through some really fun and cool experiences like learning and practicing the use of weapons, learned some new things about armies and national security in general and make some new friends.

Another important issue is that although the difficulties I’ve been through, the general experience is something I remember in a positive way. As time passed by I did find my place in the system and experienced things that people in my age in different places don’t experience. Also serving my country was a big honor for me.

We used to say that what doesn’t kill you make you stronger, so if I’m writing this essay now, then this experience made me a much stronger person.

--

--