ตําถั่วอเมริกัน ถึงแม้ตัวจะอยู่ไกลแต่ใจไม่เคยห่าง

*accent
accent
Published in
3 min readApr 19, 2015

By Sandy Wongwaiwate, BK ‘17

One of the most distinguishable features of a country is its food. As an international student studying overseas, I am constantly searching for the most authentic Thai food near campus. Dining hall experiences have been quite enlightening and also surprisingly tasty at times.

[TRANSLATION]

For me, every meal in the dining hall is a unique adventure. Will there be the famous diced apple kale salad with cranberries today? Or is the quinoa nut mix awaiting me as I pause by the salad bar on my way to the hot food section? I have to admit I am a supportive fan of Yale Dining. When I step into the Berkeley dining hall and witness the array of freshly prepared, spectacular dishes being brought out, my smile gets a little wider and my step a little bouncier. I always end up with a colorful, mouthwatering collection of food on my plate. However, I have to say the best part of my dining hall excursions is when Yale Dining decides to serve Thai food.

Hailing from the land of pad thai and tom yum goong, when I first introduce myself to strangers, I hear from numerous people that they are passionately in love with Thai food. At first, I believe them. But then I slowly begin to realize my error in blindly trusting them. That red, yellow, or green curry they order at their favorite local Thai restaurant? I trust that it must be delicious, but probably whatever they are eating is not actually authentic Thai food. Sometimes, when I accompany my friends to a Thai restaurant, the drunken noodles resembles the pad see ew dish so much that it even confuses me what the real drunken noodles dish actually looks like anymore. When it comes to dining hall food, I encounter another rendition of Thai dishes. The peanut sauce noodles occasionally placed in the salad section? I must confess that I have a great preference for it, but maybe it’s only because I wouldn’t find it at home. Thai people use peanut sauce, but I have never seen this kind of dish before. The pad thai in Commons’ Asian section is quite delicious, but again it’s not what I see in restaurants back home. I don’t blame the dining hall cooks. I don’t even want to imagine how my attempt at making a frittata would turn out. However, every time I glimpse “Thai” in the menu, a mix of feelings grows within me. Part of me is annoyed that these dishes are being labeled as Thai even though they don’t have any connection to real Thai food. The other part of me is curious as to how to the latest Thai dish will be reinterpreted.

What if the dining halls only transform my local Thai dishes in order to adapt the taste to American food? The average American can’t handle that kind of taste, some might say. These drunken noodles will be too spicy for the students. I just hope the Thai flavor will not be completely rejected during its transformation in American dining places. Some may consider the American salad bowl to already have too much seasoning and ingredients, but I only hope there is still some room left to add a pinch of Thai spice to the mix.

[ORIGINAL]

แต่ละมื้อที่ทานอาหารในโรงอาหารเป็นเหมือนการผจญภัยอย่างหนึ่ง วันนี้จะมีสลัดแอปเปิ้ล

กับแครนเบอรรี่หรือว่าโรงอาหารจะเตรียมสลัดถั่วหลากชนิดไว้ให้? เดินเข้าไปในโรงอาหาร

ทีไรต้องแวะดูว่าที่สลัดบาร์วันนี้จะมีอะไรน่าสนใจบ้างก่อนที่จะเดินต่อไปเพื่อดูแผนกอาหาร

ร้อน ก่อนอื่นต้องขอบอกว่าอาหารในโรงอาหารนั้นไม่ได้เลวร้ายอย่างที่เด็กนักเรียนเขาบ่น

กัน บางวันหลังจากเรียนเหนื่อยๆมาหลายคาบแล้วพอเห็นมีอาหารร้อนๆเตรียมไว้แล้วก็รู้สึก

ดีขึ้นมานิดหนึ่ง พอได้ทานของมีประโยชน์ครบห้าหมู่ร่างกายและสมองก็รู้สึกสดชื่นขึ้นมาได้

ในทันทีอาหารที่เจอมาก็มีหลากหลายประเภทไม่ว่าจะเป็น อเมริกัน เม็กซิกัน เอเชีย และใน

ทุกวันก็จะมีสลัดผลไม้กับซุปไว้ให้แต่วันที่น่าตื่นเต้นที่สุดคือวันที่มีอาหารไทยเสิร์ฟ

พอย้ายมาจากประเทศที่คนรู้จักกันว่าดินแดนของผัดไทยกับต้มยํากุ้งมาเรียนที่อเมริกาเวลา

เจอคนที่ไม่รู้จักและต้องแนะนําตัวเองใหม่ทุกคนเขาจะรีบบอกว่าชอบอาหารไทยมาก ตอน

แรกเราก็หลงเชื่อว่าคนเมืองนี้นั้นชอบรสชาติอาหารไทยต้นตําหรับจริง แต่หลังจากอยู่มาสัก

พักก็เริ่มเข้าใจว่าที่จริงแล้วคนต่างชาติน้อยคนที่เคยได้ลิ้มรสอาหารไทยแบบต้นฉบับ ไป

ร้านอาหารไทยทีไรก็เจอแต่แกงที่มีชื่อเป็น สีเหลือง สีแดง หรือไม่ก็สีเขียว ถึงแม้แกงพวกนี้

ลองทานแล้วก็อร่อยแต่ว่ามันไม่ใช่รสชาติอาหารไทยที่แท้จริง บางครั้งเวลาไปกับเพื่อนไป

ทานที่ร้านอาหารไทย เมนูผัดขี้เมากลับมีรสชาติเหมือนผัดซีอิ้ว ทานมามานเกินไปจนลืมไป

แล้วว่าผัดขี้เมาที่แท้จริงหน้าตาและรสชาติเป็นอย่างไร แต่ว่าอาหารไทยในโรงอาหารนั้น

เป็นอีกเรื่องหนึ่ง จานที่เคยเจอและชอบที่สุดคือ ผัดเส้นใส่ซอสถั่วไทย ฟังแล้วอาจจะงงนิด

หนึ่งเพราะคนไทยเขาไม่ใช้ถั่วกันแบบนี้ ถึงแม้หน้าตาจะดูแปลกๆ ฟังแล้วไม่รู้ว่าอร่อยมั้ย

แต่ทานแล้วก็มีรสชาติที่ใช้ได้ทีเดียว ผัดไทยที่เสริฟ์บ่อยๆในโรงอาหารก็หน้าตาดูดีแต่ก็ไม่

ค่อยเหมือนผัดไทยแบบที่ทานที่บ้าน

การทําอาหารที่ไม่ใช่ของประเทศตัวเองนั้นเป็นเรื่องยาก ยิ่งจะทําให้อร่อยนั้นยิ่งยากเข้าไป

ใหญ่ ถ้าจะให้คนไทยลองทําอาหารเม็กซิกันให้รสชาติแบบต้นฉบับก็คงยากเหมือนกัน เวลา

เห็นคําว่า ไทย ในเมนูอาหารทีไรความรู้สึกครึ่งหนึ่งรู้สึกรําคาญที่เขาบังอาจมาเรียกว่าไทย

ทั้งที่รสชาติไม่ใช่ไทยเลย อีกครึ่งหนี่งของความรู้สึกคือความแปลกใจปนกับความสงสัย ที่

รสชาติต่างจากของจริงขนาดนี้เป็นเพราะเขากลัวว่าคนต่างชาติจะไม่คุ้นหรือว่าเขาไม่รู้ว่า

รสชาติที่แท้จริงแล้วเป็นอย่างไร? บางคนก็บอกว่าเขาทําแบบนี้เพราะคนต่างชาติจะทนรส

จัดไม่ได้อย่างเช่นเอาผัดขี้เมามาเสิร์ฟให้นักเรียนทานต่อไปคงไม่มีใครอยากลองทานอีก

แต่บางทีคนไทยอย่างเราก็อยากจะให้คนต่างประเทศได้ลองรสชาติที่แท้จริงบ้างและไม่ต้อง

เปลี่ยนรสชาติและหน้าตาขนาดนี้คนเขาเรียกประเทศอเมริกาเป็นเหมือนจานสลัดใหญ่จาน

หนึ่งที่ตอนนี้มีเครื่องปรุงกับความหลากหลายที่เยอะเกินไป แต่ก็หวังว่าในจานสลัดใหญ่จาน

นี้ยังพอมีที่ว่างเหลืออยู่สําหรับเครื่องไทยต้นตําหรับที่แท้จริง

--

--