Fragments. Of. Words. | Fragmentos. de. palabras.

Eliette
accent
Published in
6 min readDec 4, 2017

An author writes many different characters in different time periods, but what happens when that character is sentient? And what will happen to her when the author dies?

24 July 1838

They tell me I have always been.

Then why do I feel newborn? In this moment, and then this one, and now this one? I have no past and no future. My present is simply the juncture in between, a place that is not even identifiable in between the thousandths of a second. There is no present, only the chasms between fragments of time.

They call me Ana. As if I have always been.

29 October 1929

I only recall sleeping. A black dot grew. Touched me. I wasn’t afraid. It dragged me. Swoops and dots and curves. And then I felt like I left sleep, like I left time.

I only know the date because I saw it outside of a bank, with desperate people. I don’t remember getting there.

People talk to me. I can speak their language. My language. I find two loose sheets in my pocket. I decide to write something on the blank one. I don’t look at the scribble on the other one.

1 January 1965

I found this paper in my jacket. They missed it. I’ll write quickly. They tell me I am going to die. I’m not sure if I believe them. But part of me must believe it, since I’m writing here now. There are more papers. I have no time to read them.

I remember the life I have had as a spy. And today I feel reborn. Is this what impending death does to you?

In last night’s dream a dark dot dragged me furiously, across a sea of white. It’s the first time I’ve had this dream, but I welcomed the dot, wonderfully familiar déjà-vu.

They ask me, why aren’t you afraid of dying? What do you know? And I say that I feel as though I cannot die.

What do you know?

I know, I answer. And wait.

Maybe today I will die.

25 February 2017

I needed to die.

I didn’t feel pain. The bullet became the black dot.

I’m lying in the middle of a place called “Times Square.” A screen says “2017.” A girl and another young boy help me up.

“What’s your name?” they ask.

“Ana,” I say, and leave.

Only with death I understand. I remember specifically the year 1965. Times Square says 2017. I push through people, staring at myself in a store window. I can’t be older than twenty, twenty-five. A generous thirty.

I feel ancient.

I hide in a quiet alley. Reach inside my jacket. Three sheets of paper. All of them have been me. Before. As I read them I remember.

And I ask myself who I am.

21 June 2073

I get to the edge of a meadow, a quiet place in this world that no longer knows silence. Or to appreciate the fragments between time. The black dot has been following me for months, but always disappears.

The dot comes to me in the meadow, hovering. I close my eyes, expecting it to envelop me. Define me. As it has always done.

Nothing.

I open my eyes to see it descending. The dot places itself firmly on my left, and dissipates. It feels like the death of a parent. It leaves a burn on the dry grey-green-yellow grass, a finite black circle.

So I know I will be finished. I will live out one last life here; the dot chose its final resting place, and so it chose mine. I feel my lungs drag in the cold air and the blinking of my eyes. For the first time, I feel full and alive. But I would rather wait for the dot forever. My heart pumps but without the dot I have no heart. I want to cry.

I only know that I am Ana, and that here, I will die.

Present Day

He sighs, and sets the pen down for the last time. He is satisfied with their lives.

Ana has been his favorite he’s ever written, the one he’s poured the most of his heart into. Each one after that has been a reincarnation of her. Her soul is, through no intention of his, in a little bit of each character. In every book of his, no matter how different, a little bit of Ana shines through. Larger than the page. And now he knows he will never write again.

A sharp pain cuts through his heart. Like Ana is begging him to keep living for her. Like she’s really alive.

24 Julio 1838

Me dicen que siempre he sido.

Pero porque me siento recién nacida? En este momento, y ahora este, y el otro? No tengo ni pasado ni futuro. Mi presente es solamente un puente entre los dos, un sitio sin identificación entre los segundos del tiempo. No hay presente. Solo una pausa entre los fragmentos de tiempo.

Me llaman Ana. Como si siempre lo hubiese he sido.

29 Octubre 1929

Solo recuerdo estar durmiendo. Un punto negro se me acercó, me tocó. No tuve miedo. Haciendo de mí círculos y puntos y curvas. Y después sentí que dejé mi sueño, y que dejé el tiempo.

Sólo sé el día porque lo vi afuera de un banco. No se como llegué al banco.

Unas personas me hablan. Entiendo su lenguaje. Mi lengua. Encuentro dos papeles en mi bolsillo. Escribo algo en el papel blanco, en este papel. No presté atención, pero había algo escrito en el otro papel.

1 Enero 1965

Encontré este papel en mi chaqueta. No lo habrán visto. Escribiré rápidamente. Me dicen que moriré. No se si creerlo. Pero parte de mi lo debe creer, sino no estaría escribiendo. Hay más papeles, pero no tengo tiempo de leer lo que contienen.

Me acuerdo de mi vida de espía, y hoy día me siento renacida. ¿La muerte inminente te hace eso?

Soñé anoche. Un punto oscuro me arrastró furiosamente, encima de algo blanco. La primera vez que tengo este sueño. Pero el punto me parece un viejo amigo que me trae buena suerte.

Me han preguntado, ¿por qué no tienes temor de morirte? ¿Qué sabes? Y digo que siento que no me puedo morir.

¿Qué sabes?

Yo sé, les contesto. Y espero.

Pero de repente hoy si muero.

25 Febrero 2017

Necesitaba morirme.

No sentí dolor. La bala se volvió el punto negro.

Me despierto con un grito ahogado, sobre el pavimento, en una plaza que dice “Times Square.” Hay una pantalla que lee “2017.” Una muchacha y otro joven me levantan.

— ¿Cómo te llamas? — me preguntan.

— Ana — les contesto, y me largo.

Solo con la muerte entiendo. Me acuerdo del año 1965. Times Square dice 2017. Me empujo contra la gente y me miro en el ventanal de una tienda. No puedo tener más de veinte, veinticinco. Generosamente treinta.

Me siento anciana.

Me escondo en un callejón callado. Meto mis manos en los bolsillos de mi chaqueta, y encuentro tres papeles. Todas han sido yo. En el pasado. Los voy leyendo, y me voy acordando.

Me pregunto quien soy.

21 Junio 2173

Llego al borde del prado, un lugar sereno en este mundo que no se acuerda del silencio, de la paz. De apreciar los fragmentos entre los segundos. El punto negro me ha estado persiguiendo por meses, pero siempre desaparece.

El punto viene en el prado, flotando cerca de mi. Cierro mis ojos, esperando que me lleve de nuevo. Que me defina. Como siempre lo ha hecho.

Nada.

Abro mis ojos, y el punto desciende. Se planta a mi izquierda y desaparece. Siento que he visto la muerte de un padre. Deja una quemadura en el pasto seco, un círculo negro.

Entonces ya sé que terminaré. Viviré mi última vida aquí. Siento el aire frío en mis pulmones y el parpadeo de mis ojos. Por la primera vez mi cuerpo se siente total, vivo. Pero preferiría esperar al punto por siempre. Mi corazón late, pero sin el punto no tengo corazón. Quiero llorar.

Solo se que soy Ana, y que aquí moriré.

Hoy en día

Él suspira, y guarda su lapicero por última vez. Está satisfecho con sus vidas.

Ana fue su personaje favorito. Él le dedicó su corazón. Todos los personajes después de ella fueron reencarnaciones de Ana. Sin que lo intente, el alma de Ana llegó a cada personaje. En cada libro, en cada historia, Ana brillaba entre las páginas. Y sabe que él nunca escribirá de nuevo.

Siente un dolor que le parte el corazón. Como si Ana le rogase que siga viviendo. Como si ella realmente estuviera viva.

--

--