Nature vs. Nurture: A Battle for a Nationality | Inato ou adquirido: A Luta por uma Nacionalidade

Claudia Torres
accent
Published in
5 min readDec 27, 2016

By Claudia Torres, SM‘19

I have always been taught that each person has only one spirit. While I understand the reasoning behind this belief to a certain extent, I have personally always considered this one of the biggest lies in the world. Let me explain: within me there exist two spirits… similar in many ways but different in many more. These spirits, souls, or even ghosts, are constantly fighting to gain complete control over my identity and for most of my life, I believed that there could only be one winner.

ORIGINAL

Nos Estados Unidos, sou portuguesa. O meu pai é português. A minha mãe é portuguesa. Somos todos portugueses. A não ser que falamos para uns e outros, nesse caso somos hispanos, italianos, ou franceses: tudo menos portugueses. Percebo que Portugal é um país relativamente pequeno: pequeno mas cheio de espírito. Estamos habituados a ser negligenciados, debilitados, e esquecidos. Mas também sabemos que somos um povo valente, imortal, ou pelo menos, isso é o que o nosso hino anuncia. O sangue que corre pelas minhas veias passou por uma linha de reis nobres e soldados valentes. Durante as Grandes Navegações, navegou o mundo, alcançou sonhos impossíveis, e enfrentou águas misteriosas com confiança. O meu sangue reúne inúmeras gerações de grandeza: está chamuscado pelo fogo rebelde dos meus antepassados, mas também humilhado pela tristeza do fado. O meu sangue é a minha herança e identidade. Eu podia viajar até aos quatro cantos desta Terra, e seria sempre portuguesa.

A não ser que esteja em Portugal, nesse caso sou Americana. É o meu andar, as minhas maneiras, e sobretudo, o meu sotaque. Ou falas inglês com um sotaque português ou falas português com um sotaque americano: é uma verdade universalmente conhecida por lusófonos à volta do mundo. O problema é que os portugueses orgulham-se da sua língua: cada palavra, cada sílaba, e cada som foi cuidadosamente construída pelas maiores mentes literárias que alguma vez vaguearam por esses vales e pastagens que são verdadeiramente vestígios de um Éden português. A minha incapacidade de rolar os meus r’s na palavra “carro”, o facto de que eu não consigo moldar a minha boca de uma forma que atinge a proporção perfeita de som para fazer justiça à palavra “filho”, só acrescenta insulto à injúria. Nos olhos de Lusitanos puros, é sinónimo a dançar o vira na cova de Camões. Com o meu sotaque, eu herdo o legado americano que não tenho nem desejo. Desgraçada pela minha ignorância e invejada pelo meu privilégio, sou discriminada pelo meu próprio povo. Recebendo o olhar confuso ou o rolo de olho crítico que muitas vezes são reservados para estrangeiros é o suficiente para humilhar-me totalmente e assustar a minha alma portuguesa fora do meu sistema.

Desta maneira, as minhas almas contraditórias têm lutado. Mas ao certo ponto na minha vida, deixei de me preocupar com este conflito e resolvi aceitar a minha identidade como luso-americana. E para dizer o mínimo, como uma portuguesa-americana, eu pertenço a um grupo interessante de pessoas. Como uma mistura de dois mundos, eu sou uma contradição viva. Forte, mas compatível, trabalhadora, mas de espírito livre, eu reconheço os anos de suor, lágrimas e sacrifícios que os meus pais sofreram enquanto eles tentaram construir uma vida melhor para mim. Inflexível, intratável, determinada, pronta para qualquer coisa, eu, uma portuguesa-americana, sigo em frente para o meu destino.

TRANSLATION

In the United States, I am Portuguese. My dad is Portuguese. My mom is Portuguese. We are all Portuguese. That is, unless we are talking to others, in which case we are Hispanic, Italian, or French: everything but Portuguese. I understand that Portugal is a relatively small country: small but full of spirit. We are used to being neglected, debilitated, and forgotten, but we also know that we are a strong people, valiant and immortal. At least according to our national anthem. The blood that flows through my veins passed through a long line of noble kinds and brave soldiers. During the Great Navigations, we sailed throughout the world, achieving seemingly impossible dreams and confronting unknown waters with confidence. My blood unites innumerable generations of grandiose people: it is charred by the rebel fire of my ancestors, but also humbled by the sadness of the fado. My blood is my inheritance and my identity. I could travel to the four corners of this world, and I would always be Portuguese.

However, the exception is when I am in Portugal, in which case I am an American. It’s the way I walk, my mannerisms, and most of all, my accent. You either speak English with a Portuguese accent or you speak Portuguese with an American accent: this is a truth universally known amongst lusophones throughout the entire world. The problem is that Portuguese people take pride in their language: every word, every syllable, and every sound was carefully constructed by the best literary minds that at one time, passed through the valleys and pastures that are truly the vestiges of a Portuguese Eden. My inability to roll my r’s in words such as “carro” (car) and the fact that I cannot mold my mouth in a way that will obtain the perfect proportion of sound to do justice to the word “filho” (son) only adds insult to my injury. In the eyes of the pure Lusophones, this is synonymous to dancing in the “pit of Camões”. With my accent, I inherit the American legacy that I neither have nor want. Devastated by my ignorance and envied for my privilege, I am discriminated against by my own people. Receiving the confused looks or eye rolls that are often times reserved for strangers is enough to completely humiliate me and scare my Portuguese spirit out of my system.

In this manner, my various contradictory souls have been fighting. However, at a certain point in my life, I stopped worrying about this conflict and resolved to accept my identity as a Luso-American. To say the least, as a Portuguese-American, I belong to an interesting group of people. Like a mixture of two worlds, I am a living contradiction. Strong but compatible, hard-working but also a free spirit, I acknowledge the years of sweat, tears, and sacrifices that my parents suffered through as they tried to construct a better life for me. Unbendable, untreatable, determined, and ready for anything, I, a Portuguese-American, continue onwards toward my destiny.

--

--