Yo y mil pedazos | Pieces of Me

Tamara Barriot
accent
Published in
5 min readNov 26, 2017

By Tamara Barriot, MY’18

We are all made of piece, and sometimes these pieces are not beautiful. In fact, many times a part of us is made of mistakes and pain, but only through accepting this can we become whole, unique individuals.

ORIGINAL

Hace tiempo, cuando aún solía escribir sobre las cicatrices de mis muñecas, escuché a alguien decir que todos estamos rotos. Parpadeé aquel día, tratando de disimular las lágrimas y continué una conversación banal entre sorbos de café frío. Hoy, 5 años después, esa misma voz resuena en mis oídos: ¿cuántos pequeños pedazos se han pegado para formar a la mujer que ahora soy?

Como amante del psicoanálisis, supongo que podría empezar volteando a mi infancia y apuntando a aquel fragmento de niña que se evaporó con la muerte de mi hermana. Seguido de unos cuantos sueños, risas y colores, todos dejando minúsculos espacios en mi. Vacíos que me aterrorizaba que las personas conocieran, ya que después de todo tenemos la concepción de que la belleza surge de lo perfecto, de aquello sin líneas ni manchas, y olvidamos que se percibe también en los pedazos rasgados y desiguales de un cuerpo que ha tenido que reconstruirse.

Crecí con ideas entremezcladas sobre lo que era bueno y malo, mostrando orgullosa ciertas partes de mí y escondiendo con recelo aquellas que me parecían vergonzosas. En preparatoria lucía las medallas de mejor promedio y un amor por la poesía y el teatro. Desfilaba el yo que sonreía y se reía sin motivo, aunque dentro de mí latía una soledad desatendida, un pedazo que me negaba a reconocer.

Fue durante mi primer año de universidad cuando descubrí que aquello que ignoramos tiene el poder de destruirnos. Estando lejos de casa me invadió una tristeza que me impulsaba a decisiones cada vez menos acertadas. Se quedaron fragmentos de mi regados alrededor del campus, en el diminuto dormitorio, en la nieve de la banqueta, en el salón de clases donde reprobé mi primera materia…

Toda yo me sentía rugosa y puntiaguda, me hacían falta esos pedazos descartados en las aulas de mi primera universidad, en los brazos de aquel joven que tanto amé, en la negación de mis aspectos menos atractivos. Me tomò unos años más para entender que las almas, al igual que los corazones, también se quiebran. No podía ser yo sin recolectar todas esas partes que había desechado. Soy yo porque fracasé en mi primera universidad, aunque eso sea hoy un recuerdo lejano, soy yo porque bailo sin música, soy yo porque estuve triste y me comí todas las uñas, soy yo porque, al fin, acepte todo el conjunto de piezas…

A fin de cuentas son momentos, facetas, pedacitos lo que nos hace humanos: es ese año de malas decisiones que quisiéramos olvidar, esa carcajada de 7 minutos, el segundo que fuimos tan felices en un primer beso, la vez que no nos pudimos levantar de la tristeza y aquella vez que nos teñimos el cabello morado… somos una colección de instantes, de memorias, de fragmentos y eso es lo que nos hace únicos.

TRANSLATION

Some time ago, back when I still wrote over the scars on my wrists, I overheard someone stating that we are all broken. I was having a conversation with a long-lost friend, one that seemed meaningless as I blinked back tears while sipping on cold coffee. My mouth formulated simple answers while my mind digested the stranger’s words, flashing over my broken relationships, my pointless wanderings, and all of those moments when I had simply quit. The stranger’s voice haunts me today, five years after the incident, and I wonder: how many fragments have been pieced together to form the person I am today?

As an admirer of psychoanalysis, I suppose I should start by looking at my infant self and pointing to the piece of childhood that evaporated with my sister’s death. Dreams, laughter, colors — all of these faded, leaving minuscule voids in me. I was terrified of showing people all these empty spaces, fearing their reactions: horror, shock, even pity. After all, we have this collective idea that beauty springs from that which is perfect, without flaws or marks. However, we forget that it can also be seen within the ragged and uneven pieces of a body that has had to reconstruct itself.

I grew up with entangled ideas of what was good and evil, proudly showing certain parts of myself and actively hiding those I perceived as shameful. While in high school I displayed my valedictorian ribbon and my love for poetry and theatre. I paraded the part of me that smiled and laughed with ease, disregarding the gnawing solitude that grew in my gut.

Later, during my freshman year of college, I discovered that the things we ignore eventually gain the power to destroy us. Our broken laughs, unshed tears, and unspoken words have a funny way of crawling over and distorting new memories. Being away from home, a sudden sadness took over me, edging me towards decisions I still struggle to understand. I left fragments of myself scattered around campus: in my dorm room, in the sidewalk’s snow, in the classroom where I failed my first subject ever.

Everything in me felt rugged and raw. I was missing the pieces discarded in the halls of my first college, in the arms of the boy I loved, in the refusal to accept the least attractive bits of myself. It took a couple more years to understand that souls, just like hearts, can be broken. I couldn’t move forward without gluing together all the pieces I had left back, the rejected pieces that ultimately constituted me. I am me because I flunked out of college on my first try, even if that’s now a distant memory. I am me because I love dancing without music. I am me because I ate each and every one of my fingernails when anxiety bubbled in my blood and clouded my vision. I am me because I’ve finally grown to accept all of my pieces.

In the end we all are just that: pieces. These moments and snapshots of our lives are what make us humans. The year of bad decisions we wish we could take back, that 7-minute laugh, the second of ecstatic happiness during a first kiss, that time the world was too large and too heavy to get out of bed, that time we dyed our hair purple. We are a collection of instants, of memories, of fragments. To me, that is what makes us unique.

--

--