THE 25TH OF APRIL | 25 DE ABRIL

Claudia Torres
accent
Published in
2 min readAug 26, 2017

ORIGINAL

Conta-me como foi
quando acordaste nessa manha
de primavera Abril.
ao olhares para o sol a brilhar
ou ao admirares a bela paisagem,
paraste para ouvir os pássaros a cantar?
Notaste a melodia mais liberta?

Conta-me o que pensaste
quando ligaste o rádio
e ouviste vozes,
livres de correntes,
proclamando pela primeira vez,
com a maior sinceridade:
“Viva Portugal!”

Conta-me como sentiste
quando olhaste pela tua pequena janela
e viste entre estradas guardas nos tanques
e um mar de soldados verdes,
dezenas de cravos vermelhos e delicados,
Cutucando fora de espingardas ocas.

Conta-me como foi
para uma rapariga de 18 anos
sentir a força da sua geração
reconquistando a sua Pátria
usando só canções y cantos populares,
após tantos anos de silencio.

Conta-me como foi
para que eu aprenda
como levantar a minha voz
durante os tempos mais divididos
e usar os frutos da minha geração
para criar uma cultura unida.

TRANSLATION

Tell me what it was like
When you woke up that morning
In the spring of April.
While looking at the shining sun
Or admiring the lovely landscape,
Did you stop to hear the birds sing?
Did you note in their melody the sound of liberty?

Tell me what you thought
When you turned on the radio
And you heard the voices
Free of chains,
Proclaiming for the first time,
With the greatest sincerity:
“Long Live Portugal!”

Tell me how you felt
When you looked through your small window
And saw guards lining the streets in their tanks

And a sea of green soldiers,
With hundreds of delicate red carnations,
Sticking out of their empty rifles.

Tell me what it was like
For an 18 year-old girl
To feel the strength of her generation
Taking back their Nation,
Using only songs and popular tales,
After so many years of silence.

Tell me what it was like
So that I can learn
How to raise my voice
During the most divisive times
And how to use the fruit of my generation
To create a united culture.

--

--