The Ghost of My Past | Geçmişimin Hayaleti

Sera Bulbul
accent
Published in
4 min readDec 26, 2016

By Sera Bulbul, ES’19

In this article I reflect on moving away from my home country, and the effect that trying to reconnect with my roots has had on me.

ORIGINAL

“Geçmiş, bugünü şekillendirir.” Bu cümleyi daha önce duymuştum, ama bu konuda hiç düşünmemiştim. Bu dönem Türkçe derslerine başladığımdan beri, Türkiye’de geçirdiğim çocukluğumu yeniden ve daha sık anımsıyorum. Şu anda eskiye göre kendimi kendi ülkemle çok daha yakın hissediyorum, çünkü Türkçe derslerinde Türkçe konuşurken, ders için Türk dizileri izlerken, Türk edebiyatından hikayeler okurken, Türkçe konuşup Türkçe gülerken, Türkçe ağlarken kendi kültürümü biraz daha (yeniden) keşfediyorum. Eskiden böyle değildi, ve bu nedenle de sık sık geçmişe gidip düşünüyorum.

Ben yedi yaşında Ankara’dan taşıdığımda arkamda neleri bıraktığımın farkında değildim. Bunu anlayabilmek için çok küçüktüm. Türkiye benim yuvamdı, ve vatanımdan ayrılınca her şey değişti.

Artık etrafımdakiler Türkçe konuşmuyordu, ve ben de giderek Türkçe’mi unutmaya başlamıştım. Yepyeni bir kültür vardı ve benim bildiğim Türk kültüründen çok farklıydı. Gün geçtikçe Türkiye’yi ne kadar özlediğimi fark ediyordum. Şu anda üniversitede anlıyorum ki Amerika’da Türkiye unutulmuş bir ülke. Tarih derslerimde Türkiye’nin hatalarını öğreniyoruz ama bunun dışında Türkiye’yi anlamaya çalışmıyoruz. Bütün sınıfta sadece ben Türkiye’nin ne kadar dinamik, çeşitli ve güzel bir ülke olduğunu biliyorum. Ülkemi sadece geçmişine göre yargılıyorlar ve bu beni üzüyor.

Benim için Türkiye’yi ziyaret etmek bir nostalji. Bir yandan her şey tanıdık gibi geliyor ama bir yandan da bazen artık oraya ait değilmişim gibi hissediyorum. Beni Türkiye yetiştirdi. İlk adımlarımı Türkiye’de attım. İlk kelimelerim Türkçeydi, ve ilk sevdiğim yemek babaannemin Türk mantısıydı. Türkiye’ye bağlantımı kaybetmek istemiyorum. Ben Türk gibi görünmüyorum — gözlerim ve saçımın rengi fazla açık — ve Türkiye’deyken yolda gördüğüm insanlar beni yabancı sanıyorlar. Ben Türk gibi görünmek istiyorum, çünkü böylece tekrar kendimi ülkeme ait hissedebilirim.

Türkiye bir bilmece gibi ve ben hâlâ onu çözemedim. Acaba hiç taşınmasaydım, Türk hissedebilir miydim? Bilmiyorum. Ama hayat devam ediyor ve ben şimdi Amerika’da, anavatanımdan çok uzaklarda, okuyorum. Şimdi Türk kimliğim bir hayalet gibi görünmez ama bir gölge gibi yakın. Eskiden, Türkiye’de yasamadığım için Türkiye’deki anılarımın geçmişte kalacağını sanırdım. Şimdi anlıyorum ki anılarım hayalet gibi olsa da onlardan öğrendiklerim ve Türk kimliğim her zaman kişiliğimi oluşturmaya devam edecek. Geçmiş bugünü şekillendirir, ve bu yüzden küçüklüğümden kalan hayaletlerim aslında her zaman beni takip edecekler.

TRANSLATION

“The past shapes the present.” I have heard this sentence before, but I’ve never really considered its meaning. Ever since I’ve started taking Turkish classes, I’ve been thinking about the childhood that I spent in Turkey. Right now my Turkish classes are making me feel closer than ever to my country, because I feel like I am discovering more and more about my own culture while speaking Turkish and watching Turkish television in class. I now laugh and cry and speak in Turkish. But it hasn’t always been like that, and that is why I’ve been thinking about my past lately.

When I was seven years old and moved away from Ankara I had no idea what I was leaving behind. I was far too young to understand. Turkey was like my nest, and when I left my country everything was going to change.

People around me no longer spoke Turkish, and as I left I started to forget the language too. The new culture was nothing like the Turkish culture that I knew. As the days went on I realized how much I missed Turkey. In college I’ve come to understand that in America, Turkey is a forgotten country. In my history classes we learn about Turkey’s mistakes, but make no effort to understand the country. I am the only student in the class who knows how dynamic, varied and beautiful Turkey really is. Others judge my country according to its past, and this saddens me.

When I visit Turkey I am filled with nostalgia. In one sense everything seems familiar, but on the other hand sometimes I feel out of place. Turkey raised me. I took my first steps in Turkey. My first words were Turkish, and the first food that I liked was my grandmother’s Mantı (Turkish ravioli). I don’t look Turkish — my hair is too light and my eyes are too blue — and when I walk down the street in Turkey, people think I’m foreign. I want to look Turkish just so I can feel like I belong in my country again.

Turkey is like a puzzle and I have yet to solve it. I wonder if I would still feel Turkish had I never moved. I’m not sure. But life goes on, and right now I’m in America far from my homeland. Here my Turkish identity is invisible like a ghost, but as close to me as a shadow. I used to think that since I no longer live in Turkey, my memories would always stay in the past, but now I understand that no matter how far away Turkey feels, the memories that I made in Turkey will shape my identity forever. The past truly does shape the present, and as a result the ghosts of my childhood will always continue to follow me.

--

--