The Ghost that Haunts Me | Привидение, которое меня преследует

Anna Bondar
accent
Published in
6 min readDec 24, 2016

By Anna Bondar — College of the Albemarle

Everybody has different ghosts that haunt us. My own ghost suddenly appeared when I was watching the Summer Olympic Games in Rio. It wrapped me around with childhood memories from sports, including the challenges that I had to embrace and, ultimately, the decision to stop playing them. Whether this ghost is bad or not, it taught me to never give up!

ORIGINAL

Совсем не так давно прошли Олимпийские игры в Рио де Жанейро. Это событие объединило весь мир у экранов телевизоров. У каждого зрителя был разный повод с захваченным дыханием смотреть за тем что происходит на Олимпиаде. Одни интересовались успехами их страны и сколько медалей заполучила их команда, другие переживали за любимого спортсмена, ну или же просто наслаждались просмотром любимого вида спорта. Для меня же это событие напоминает дух из прошлого, который приходит раз в четыре года и окутывает вуалью эмоций, воспоминаний, и, возможно, несбывшихся надежд

Так случилось что с самого детства я была вовлечена в спорт, а именно семь лет своей жизни я занималась художественной гимнастикой. Этот вид спорта невероятно грациозен и красив, но за этой красотой скрывается много трудов, усилий и самодисциплины. Даже представить себе не могу как я могла все успевать? Постоянные разъезды на соревнованиях, каждодневные тренировки, ну а главное, что нельзя забывать и о школе. В конце концов, не выдержав всего этого напряжения, я решила уйти из спорта.

Теперь, смотря выступления гимнасток, я нахожу в этой толпе такую же спортсменку как я. Я чувствую ее переживания и эмоции перед тем как выйти на ковер. “А что, если мой мяч выскользнет из рук и покатится по полу как жемчужина? Как много в зале людей и всё их внимание уставлено только на меня! Что если я подведу кого-нибудь после стольких стараний и трудов?” В ее голове куча мыслей и страх провалиться. Но вот слышен гудок и начинает играть музыка. Все эти мысли улетучиваются и участница за секунду перевоплощается в свое амплуа. Она летает по сцене как птица, которую нежно ласкает попутный ветер. За две минуты она может влюбить в себя и, возможно не вернуть твое сердце обратно.

Но сколько же лет своей жизни она отдала ради двух минут выступления? Что стоит за этими двумя минутами? Я помню натертые мозоли на руках и истоптанные ноги, постоянно опухшее лицо от слез и бесконечную боль в теле. Особенно я помню тут дорогу, которая вела в манеж. Мне вспоминается зимнее морозное утро, на улице еще темно и под ногами слышится еще свежий, скрипящий под ногами снег. Я иду на тренировку еле волоча ногами и засыпая. Как же хотелось развернуться и пойти домой, но мысли о том, что может когда –ни будь я стану успешной гимнасткой не позволяли мне сдаться. Я помню свои трех часовые занятия в холодном спортивном зале, который казался для меня огромным ледником, поглощающего каждого кто в него войдет. Очень редко выпадал случай, когда из больших пыльных окон проходил узенький лучик света. Казалось, что этот лучик мог согреть каждого из нас.

Иногда, идя по улице я встречаю много девочек с волосами, собранными в пучок и огромными рюкзаками, наполненные спортивных снарядов. Я задумываюсь, что их движет? Почему они все не бросят и просто не проведут беззаботное детство со сверстниками, играя во дворе? Такие дети только заслуживаю уважения, ведь они проходят школу жизни с такого раннего возраста. Не многие из этих девочек доходят до финишного пути, но все же спорт оставляет глубокий отпечаток в их жизни даже не замечая этого.

У каждого существует свой дух из прошлого, который напоминает о не сбывшихся и мечтах и о целях, которые никогда не были воплощены в жизнь Он приходит не для того чтобы разбередить старые раны, а для того чтобы встретиться со своими ошибками лицом к лицу и некогда их не совершать. В моем же случае –никогда не сдаваться и идти до конца!

TRANSLATION

Recently, the Olympic Games in Rio ended. This event pressed many people around the world against their TV screens. Every viewer had different reasons to watch this event. Some were interested in the success of the team from their home country and how many medals they won while others wanted to watch their favorite athletes compete. The rest maybe just enjoyed the aesthetics and dynamics of some sports that they are fond of. For me, the Olympics remind me of an old ghost that comes once every four years and wraps around me with a veil of emotions, memories and dreams that never came true.

From an early age, I was always involved in sports. In particular, seven years of my life were spent doing rhythmic gymnastics. This kind of sport is absolutely elegant and graceful, but behind all this beauty are hidden hours of hard work, self-sacrifice, exertion and discipline. I could not even imagine how I could manage all those things at such a young age: constant trips to competitions, daily practices, and, most importantly, studying for school. In the end, I could not resist all the tension and stress, and I decided to quit sports.

Now, I watch the performances of gymnasts, and I find myself immersed in them. I feel her fears and worries before she steps up onto the stage. She probably has so many thoughts in her head: “What if this ball falls out of my hands and rolls like a pearl om the floor? How many people are watching me in the audience? What if I let somebody down after all my hard work?” Then, she hears her music and all the fear disappears in a second. On the stage, she is a bird that is gently touched by the wind. In two minutes, she can make you fall in love with her and never get your heart back.

How many years of her life did she sacrifice for two minutes of a performance? What stands behind those two minutes? I remember the callouses on my hands, worn-out feet, and an always swollen face from tears and endless pain in my body. I especially remember the road that led to the sports hall and a freezing morning in the wintertime when it is still dark outside and I hear squeaking sounds underneath my feet from the fresh snow. I am walking to practice, barely moving my feet and almost falling asleep. You cannot even imagine how much I wanted to turn around and go home, but the thoughts that one day I will become a successful gymnast would never let me give up. I also remember three-hour long practices in a freezing athletic hall. It used to remind me of a huge iceberg that swallowed anybody who decided to go inside. Very rarely, I had a chance to see the sunlight that was coming out of the huge and dusty windows. I hoped that this sunbeam could warm us up.

Sometimes when I walk on the streets, I see many girls with their hair tight in a bun and huge backpacks full of sports equipment. I ask myself, what keeps them going? Why would they not leave sports and just have a reckless childhood playing with other kids? These girls deserve much respect because they experience life lessons at an early age. Not all of them come to the finish line, but sports definitely have an impact on their lives, even without noticing it.

Everybody has their own ghost that periodically visits us and reminds us about the dreams that never came true and goals that have never been achieved. The ghost does not come to tear open our wounds; it helps us to realize our mistakes so that we may not repeat them again. In my case: never give up.

--

--