The Shadow Hand | 그림자 손

Katherine Oh
accent
Published in
19 min readDec 27, 2016

By Katherine Oh, SM’18

A young woman’s guilt and depression manifests itself in the ghost of her uncle’s hand. She reflects on the meaning of death and desperately clings to her memories.

ORIGINAL

“죽은 사람에 대한 점은 죽지 않았던 적이 있었다. 눈 깜짝할 사이에 안죽음에서 죽음으로 변하고, 사람에서 시체로 변했다. 우리는 생사 중 하나다. 중간이 없다. 죽은 사람에 대한 점은 누군가 죽을때, 너는 다음 날 일어나서 그가 죽었다고 기억해야한다. 그리고그이후 너는 그가 죽었다고 매일매일 기억해야한다.”
– 스카이, 비의 건축

2016년 10월 8일 목요일, 내가 “비의 건축”이라는 드라매트 연극을 봤다. 첫번째 여배우가 독백을 시작하자마자, 그림자 손이 내 목을 또 꽉, 꽉 쥐고 있었다. 내 폐에서 숨을 짜내고 눈에서 피눈물을 짜낼려고 나를 또 질식시키고 있었다.

그러나, 내 누낭들이 비어있었다.나는 그림자 손이 누관에서 어떤 액체든 더이상 짜내지 못하게 결심했다. 왜냐하면, 내가 이젠 알고 있었다, 그의 손이 아니었다는 사실을.

“10월3일에, 그는 나에게 몇일이나 물어봤다.

‘10월3일이다.’” — 케이디, 퀸카로 살아남는 법

2015년10월3일에, 강태욱씨는 간암에 글복했다. 그는 60세이었다. 그는 아버지, 남편, 그리고 오빠이었다.

그는 한 소녀의 삼촌이었다.

묵뚝뚝하고 어섹한 내 아버지와 달리, 내 삼촌은 반짝이는 눈, 줄담배로 까마진 이빨과 금치관들을 공개하는 여유 만만한 미소, 그리고 느긋한 목소리에 부드러운 억양을 가지고 있었다. 그는 나를 어깨위에 태우고, 손가락 딱 소리와 휘파람 소리를 내는 방법을 가르치길 시도했고, 80대 한국가요에 맞아 나와 춤도 췄다. 그는 내 귀를 약하게 땡기고, 내 머리카락을 헝클어뜨리고, 항상 “가시나”라고 불렀다.

그는 이란성 쌍둥이 아들과 함께 미국에 살았다. 쌍둥이의 어머니는 떠난지 오래됐다. 내 사촌오빠들은 나와 나이차이가 제일 적고, 내가 없었던 형제이었다. 오빠들은 내가 여자 세균덩어리 있다고 놀리고, 내 게임보이를 훔치고, 그네로 뛰어갈때 나를 땅으로 밀었다. 그리고 내가 울부짖을때마다, 삼촌이 나를 다시 일어세우고, 강한 손으로 내 눈물을 딱고 이렇게 말했다: “야 가시나야, 하나도 안 아팠잖아. 애기들만 울고, 너는 어른이지?” 그리가 나는 항상 고개를 강하게 끄덕이면서 그의 못이 박인 큰 손을 쥐었다.

대학 1학년 재학중에, 삼촌의 간암 진단에 대해 들었다. 벨레뷰 병원안으로 어머니와 이모를 따라들어갔더니, 삼촌 아닌 사람을 찾았다. 삼촌은 이제 허약한 해골이었다. 눈꺼풀이 피로에 축 처지고, 목서리의 장난스런 억양이 사라졌다. 그래도 내가 방으로 들어갈때 반짝이는 금치관이 보이게 웃었다. 그의 흔들리는 손이 내 손을 약하게 쥐면서 잠긴 목소리로 말했다: “오랜만이다 가시나야.”

2015년5월초에 다시 봤을때, 그의 암이 가라앉았다. 얼굴이 아직 창백했고 손가락이 가상적인 담배을 잡고싶어서 씰룩거렸다. 그러나 내가 삼촌 아파트안애 발을 내딛자마자, 크게 웃으면서 나에게 다가왔다. 나를 꽉 포웅하면서 중얼거렸다: “끝까지 잘해라, 가시나야.”

2학년 가을동안, 어머니를 전화할때마다 내가 항상 “삼촌 어때?”라고 물어봤다. 평소때 유쾌한 우리 어머니는 그때 잠시 주춤거리고, 떨리는 목소리로 “별로”라고 대답했다.

혐오스럽고 못난 무언가을 나에게 숨긴다고 알고있었다. 어쩌면 내가 사실을 벌써 알고 있었을 수도 있다. 그러나 나는 항상 “알았어, 그냥 잘 좀 챙겨줘!”라고 대답했다. 그리고 내 책상 달력을 휙휙 훑어 보고 삼촌을 다시 볼 수 있을때까지 몇 주 남았는지 셌다.

추수감사절 방학 첮날이 되야 집으로 돌아가는 차를 타면서 어머니가 유난히 활기찬 목소리로, “아 참 오늘밤 뭔가를 말해줄게!”라고 말했다. 샤워에서 완전 알몸에 서있어서야 어머니가 변좌위에 앉고 내가 충분히 드러났고 노출됐다고 결정했다. 어머니가 문장을 끝내기 전에도 내가 알았다:

“너 삼촌이 죽었다.”

그는 약이 다 떨어졌다. 약국도 약이 떨어져서, 몇일 기다리라고 부탁했다. 그것이 2015년9월 마지막 주이었다.

그의 암이 재발했다. 일주도 안되서 숨쉬기조차도 너무 힘겨울 정도로 상태가 악화됐다.

그의 마지막 순간들에 우리 부모님만 불렀다. “가야돼”라고 할근거렸다. 우리 부모님은 눈물을 겨우 참으면서 고개를 끄덕거리고 그의 약한 손을 잡았다. 그를 물었다, 내가 장례식이라도 참석할수있게 알려줄까? 그는 단호하게 고개를 가로 젓었다.

2015년10월3일에, 강태욱씨가 이세상을 빠르게 조용하게 떠났다.

2015년11월23일에, 우리 어머니가 드디어 나에게 그의 죽음에 대해 알려줬다.

11월23일에, 내가 주먹으로 화장실 세라믹제를 쳤다. 샤워물이 내 눈물을 씻어버렸지만, 내 주먹에서 벽 틈으로 흘러버린 피로 못 씻었다.

그날이후로 그림자 손이, 제일 암울하고 새까만 그의 그림자 손이 나를 괴롭히기 시작했다.

삼촌은 내가 자신의 죽음에 대해 모르길 바랬다. 내가 바로 집으로 기차타고 몇밤몇일 애도할줄 알았다. 내가 공부를 포기하지 않길 바랬다. 그가 알기로는 내가 예일에서 잘 헤쳐 나가고 있었다.

하지만 나는 아니었다. 1학년 봄학기부터 내가 수업가든 숙제하든 아무것도 할 의욕이 없어졌다. 다가오는 마감일들이 나를 불안하게 만들지 않았다. 늦잠 계속 자고 폭식증때문에 애먹었다. 그러나 가족과 친구들은 아무도 몰랐다. 왜냐하면 남한테는 내가 항상 미소를 짓고 있었다.

추수감사절 끝나고 예일에 돌아온 이후, 내 미소가 커지면서 우울증이 뼈 속부터 나를 삼키기 시작했다. 매일아침 일어나면, 그림자 손이 나를 질식시켜서 숨 쉴 수 없었다. 그림자 손이 식당음식을 다 치워버리고 내 무릎위에 유난히 많은 양의 불량식품을 얹혔다. 수업으로 터벅터벅 걷는것도 그림자 손이 내 발목을 잡아땡겨서 산 넘어 산이었다. 학점이 계속 떨어지는것을 보며, 그림자 손한테 계속 뺨 맞아서 아팠다. 내가 삼촌에게 거짓말했기 때문에, 내가 절대 만족시킬 수 없는 무리한 기대를 걸게 만들었기 때문에, 나는 고통받을 만한 이유가 충분했다.

2016년2월에 그림자 손이 병의 모든 타이레놀 알약 32개를 내 손에 부우면서, 내가 자살하지 않을거면 긴 고문이라도 느끼라고 말했다. 처음으로 내가 몸에서 그림자 손을 비틀어 뗐다. 벌벌 떨면서 어머니를 전화하고 흐느겨 울었다: “엄마 제발 도와줘.”

약 먹기 시작한지 7개월이 됐다. 우울증 증세 대부분이 사라졌지만, 나를 치료한 것이 약 아니었다. 그것이 내 친구이었다. 그녀의 어깨에 울고 그림자 손이 어떻게 목을 계속 조르는지 설명하면서, 그녀가 한 간단한 질문을 물었다:

“너의 삼촌을 한 단어로 묘사해야한다면 그 단어가 무엇이니?”

“멋지다.”

“그봐, 삼촌은 아무래도 네가 자신의 마지막 불쌍한 모습을 보지 않기 위해 네가 장례식에 가지마라고 바랬을거다. 자신에 대한 너의 마지막 기억이 바로 그것이길 바랬을거다: 네가 너무나도 사랑하는 멋진 삼촌. 그리고 네가 절대로 그 모습을 잊지 않는다고 알고있다.

어떤 점에서는 우리 삼촌의 죽음이슈뢰딩거의 고양이 역설이었다. 그는 육체적으로 죽었다. 그러나 나한테는 추수감사절 방학까지 죽지 않았다. 소식을 듣자마자, 그 날이후 나는 그가 내 곁으로 돌아오지 않을것이고, 내가 그의 강한 손을 다시 잡을 수 없다고 기억해야했다. 어쩌면 그래서 그의 그림자 손이 나를 괴롭이러 왔을 수 있다. 근데 그 기간동안 우리 삼촌은 어떤 뜻에서는 동시에 죽었고 살았다.

그리고 어쩌면 죽지도 않았을 수 있다. 그의 죽음은 내가 가지고 있지 않은 기억이라서 발생하지 않았다. 그의 신체는 죽었지만, 그는 살아있었다.

그리고 그림자 손? 그의 손이 아니다. 그의 손을 빙의하는 내 우울증이다. 그림자 손은 나를 때리고 조르는 것만 할 줄 안다.

근데 그의 손 아니다. 왜냐하면 그의 손은 내가 울면서 내 손을 잡고, 내 귀를 약하게 땡기고, 내 머리카락을 헝클어뜨렸을거다. 그리고 그의 느긋한 목소리가 항상 나를 “가시나”라고 불렀을거다.

“죽은 사람은 죽은 시체와 같지 않다.” — 솔, 비의 건축

TRANSLATION

“The thing about dead people is they didn’t use to be dead. There was a split second when they went from un-dead to dead, from a person to a body. We are either living or dead. There is no in-between. The thing about dead people is when someone dies, you wake up the next day and you have to remember they’re dead. And every day, after that you have to remember they’re dead.” — Scy, Architecture of Rain

On October 8th, 2016, I watched the Dramat play “Architecture of Rain.” As soon as the first actress began her monologue, I felt the shadow hand squeezing my throat again, hard. It was strangling me yet again, trying to squeeze the breath out of my lungs and bloody tears out of my eyes.

But my lacrimal sacs were empty. I refused to let the shadow hand wrench any more liquid out of my tear ducts. Because I knew now that it wasn’t his.

“On October 3rd, he asked me what day it was.
‘It’s October 3rd.’”
— Cady, Mean Girls

On October 3rd, 2015, Kang Tae-Uk succumbed to liver cancer. He was 60. He was a father, husband, and brother.

He was an uncle of one girl.

Unlike my stoic and awkward father, my uncle had twinkling eyes, an easy smile with teeth blackened by chain smoking and capped in gold, and a gentle lilt in his lazy voice. He let me ride on top of his shoulders, tried teaching me how to snap and whistle (I still can’t do the latter), and danced to 80s Korean music with me. He would lightly pull my ear, ruffle my hair, and always call me “gashina” (the Gyeongsang provincial slang word for “girl”).

He lived in the States with his fraternal twin sons. Their mother had left. My cousins are the closest in age to me — they were the brothers I never had. They teased me for my girl cooties, stole my Gameboy, and pushed me onto the ground when running to the swings. And every time I wailed, my uncle was there to pick me back up, wipe my tears away with his strong hand and say, “Gashina, that didn’t hurt at all. Crying is for little kids, and you’re big right?” And every time, I would fiercely nod and squeeze his large, calloused hand.

In my freshman year of college, my uncle was diagnosed with liver cancer. I followed my mother and aunt into Bellevue Hospital Center, only to find an imposter. My uncle was now a frail skeleton. His eyelids sagged from fatigue, and the playful lilt in his voice was gone. But he still smiled when I entered the room, his golden dental crowns shining brightly. His trembling hand weakly squeezed mine as he croaked, “Long time no see gashina.”

When I saw him again in early May 2015, his cancer had gone into remission. His face was still waxen, and his fingers twitched to grab an imaginary cigarette. But as soon as I stepped foot into his flat, he smiled widely and walked up to me. He gave me a firm hug, mumbling, “Keep doing well, gashina.”

During my sophomore fall, whenever I called my mother, I asked, “How is uncle doing?” My normally jovial mother would then hesitate, and respond in a quivering voice, “Not well.”

I knew she was hiding something from me, something nasty and ugly. Perhaps I already knew the truth. But I always replied, “Okay, just please take care of him!” Then I would flip through my desk calendar and count the weeks left until I could see him again.

It was not until the first day of Thanksgiving break, when in the car ride home my mother said in an unnaturally chipper voice, “Oh right I have to tell you something later tonight!” It was not until I had stripped down in the shower that my mother sat on the toilet seat and decided I was bare and vulnerable enough. I already knew before she finished her sentence:

“Your uncle is dead.”

He had run out of refills. The pharmacy was out of stock, so they asked him to wait a few days. That was the last week of September 2015.

His cancer relapsed. In less than a week, he deteriorated to the point where even breathing was too strenuous.

The only people he allowed to see his final moments were my parents. He wheezed out, “I need to go.” My parents, despite their tears, nodded and held his fragile hands. They asked if they should let me know so that I can at least come to his funeral. He adamantly shook his head.

On October 3rd, 2015, Kang Tae-Uk left this world quickly and quietly.

On November 23rd, 2015, my mother finally informed me of his death.

On November 23rd, I punched the ceramic wall of my bathroom. The shower washed away my tears, but not the blood oozing from my fist into the cracks on the wall.

From that day on, the shadow hand, the bleakest blackest shadow of his hand, started to haunt me.

My uncle didn’t want me to know about his death. He knew I would immediately take the train back home and mourn for days. He didn’t want me to forgo my studies. For all he knew, I was thriving at Yale.

Except I wasn’t. Since freshman spring, I felt unmotivated to go to class or do my homework. Approaching deadlines did not stir anxiety. I suffered from oversleeping and binge eating disorder. None of my family and friends picked it up, because to everyone else, I was always smiling.

When I returned to Yale after Thanksgiving break, my smile grew wider as my depression consumed me inside. Every morning, I couldn’t breathe because the shadow hand was suffocating me. The shadow hand pushed away the dining hall food and placed unnaturally large portions of junk on my lap. Trudging to class was like climbing a mountain, because the shadow hand grabbed my ankle and refused to let go. As my grades dropped further, the shadow hand kept slapping me across the face. I deserved to be in pain, because I lied to my uncle and gave him unrealistic expectations that I couldn’t meet.

On February 2016, the shadow hand poured all 32 Tylenol pills from the bottle into my trembling hand, and told me to at least subject myself to slow torture if I wasn’t going to kill myself. For the first time, I wrenched the shadow hand off of my body. Shaking, I called my mother and sobbed, “Mom, please help me.”

It’s been seven months since I started taking medication. Most of my depression symptoms have disappeared, but what healed me wasn’t the medication. It was my friend, whose shoulder I cried on as I vented about how the shadow hand kept choking me. She asked a simple question:

“What is one word you would use to describe your uncle?”

“Charming.”

“See honey, your uncle most likely didn’t want you to go to his funeral, because he didn’t want you to see him in his last pathetic state. He wanted your last memory of him to be just that: your charming uncle who you love so much. And he knows you will never forget that image.”

In some ways, my uncle’s death was a Schrodinger’s cat paradox. He was physically dead. But he wasn’t dead to me until Thanksgiving break. Once I heard the news, I had to remember that he will never come back to me, and I will never get to hold his strong hand again. Perhaps that was why his shadow hand came back to haunt me. But during that time, my uncle was, in a sense, both dead and alive.

And maybe he’s not even dead. His death is not a memory I have, so it never happened. His body might be dead, but he is alive.

And the shadow hand? It’s not his hand. It is my depression disguised as his hand. The shadow hand only knows how to hit and choke me.

But it’s not his. Because his hand would have held mine as I cried, lightly pulled my ear, and ruffled my hair. And his lazy voice would always call me “gashina.”

“A dead person is not the same as a dead body.” — Sol, Architecture of Rain

--

--