BBC Television interview

Jonathan Izard
Accidental Death
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2018
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The article in the Guardian (also then syndicated to the Mail and the Irish Times) has had a huge response. I have been inundated with hundreds of messages, all full of heart-warming compassion and many from people who have been through an experience similar to mine and wanting to tell me about it. Some of you have buried your own grief deeply for years, decades, not knowing how to begin to express it. Or even if it it was possible. I am so pleased that reading about my accident has helped you find the courage to open that conversation for yourselves. Of course, I also fully respect that there are plenty of others who are choosing to manage the effects of a fatal car accident in other ways without the need to speak about it. As I have said, I have no wish to suggest what is right for anyone else, only for me and to offer my healing process to anyone who may benefit from hearing it. But the level of response so far has confirmed my instinct that there are many, many people holding their own painful narrative and are keen to talk about it.

I was invited on to BBC Breakfast on Saturday April 7th to discuss this week’s Radio 4 documentary ‘Meeting the Man I Killed’ with presenters Steph McGovern and Rachel Burden. It was a chance to reach another audience and to open a dialogue with them. You can watch the interview here:

--

--

Jonathan Izard
Accidental Death

On December 31st 2015 I was involved in a road traffic accident. My car hit a pedestrian. He died. I’d like to tell you more.