It’s Okay To Have “Lazy Days”

Lacking motivation won’t ruin your life’s proverbial mosaic.

Synthia Stark
Accompanied by Enervation

--

For days at a time, I am widely productive and surprise myself at what I can do. There are other days (very few and far between) where that motivation is practically zapped.

Today is one of them.

I toss and I turn in my mind, wanting to do a little extra something. I am itching to do more things. Yet, I have to remember: I’ve done too much already and I need to take a break.

Even others are starting to worry.

I’m not a machine, and I cannot keep on running on pure energy alone. That energy is going to reduce my optimal state in the following days if I’m not careful.

Whether I like it or not, that energy is going to come from somewhere outside of my own choosing.

To take control, I have to recharge. I must recharge.

If I refuse to recharge, my body will make that decision for me —whether I am interested or not.

We often think that when we are doing very little, then we have wasted our time. It’s better to live a little, take a breather, and then proceed. Life is an overarching piece of art and these little moments represent tiny mosaic pieces.

--

--

Synthia Stark
Accompanied by Enervation

Canadian Therapist & Former Researcher | 5x Top Writer | Writing about mental health, psychology, science, etc. https://linktr.ee/SynthiaS