Accurate Creative
Accurate Creative
Published in
3 min readSep 26, 2022

--

Accurate Creative’s vehicle design for local contractor McDonald Carpentry

Impressing potential clients should be job one

There’s a common saying, “You never get a second chance at a first impression!”. People in general, including new prospects, are quick to judgment. As a business person, impressing a potential client should be job one because, in those first few seconds, they will either be impressed enough to call or unimpressed and move on to someone else.

Full Disclosure: I am a creative director with over 40 years of experience in branding. Some may say that colours my opinion. But I’m also a person with instincts no different than any potential customer. And with my background in understanding consumer behaviour and their decision-making processes, I’m confident in offering informed advice.

I have a pet peeve: tradespeople that don’t invest in the concept of making a positive first impression. I’m always curious about vehicles I see on the road or at job sites. Some are clean and branded with a professional logo and graphics. Others are old and dirty, rusting and beat up. Are the professional-looking, well-branded tradespeople any more qualified or reputable than their opposites? Do the contractors that care enough about presentation take more care and pride in their work than their counterparts?

In the context of this article, I’m not sure it matters because, based on first impressions, like most individuals, I am more likely than not to exclude the companies that poorly present.

Creating that great first impression makes a statement. It says, “I care about my equipment, my business, my people, my reputation, and your overall experience working with us.” Investing in branding and presentation is crucial to impressing customers on that first visit and everyone after. It’s an investment that can lead to repeat business and word-of-mouth referrals.

Logo, vehicle design, and site signs for D Sauvé Plumbing

The common pushback to this concept is cost. Comments like, “Branding is expensive. Vehicle graphics, clothing, and websites are costly.” are misplaced. Digital technology has dramatically lowered the cost of printing, decals, and other production techniques, such as applying your brand to clothing or hats. Fees to develop a logo and artwork services for vehicle wraps, wearables, business cards, and a simple website are a minimal investment when you consider the potential of future business earned by that professional first impression.

Nathan McDonald proudly shows off his new logo, vehicle, and wearables

Accurate Creative has been helping local contractors build client relationships by delivering professional branding services for over 30 years. Contact us today for more information on how we can help you inspire confidence by making a solid first impression.

--

--