Chronograph Moonphase Mechanical watch on AliExpress

Artiya
ACCUWA
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2021

--

I was looking for a cheap mechanical chronograph watch. I seem impossible to get a mechanical chronograph watch at a low price. The cheapest one I can get is the Seagull 1963 chronograph but it’s scream too much China. I did not like the design at the time of start the watch collecting. Now I understand more horology and more appreciate it.

The Seagull 1963 pilot chronograph

At the time, I look further and found a watch with the same movement with more complicate, date, and moonphase!!!. It is Gustav Becker - mechanical chronograph. The name on the dial sound like a watchmaker(It’s actually a defunct clockmaker). I ordered a blue one. I think it looks neat with the moonphase color dial. The price is around $250 on AliExpress.

Specification

Seagull ST1908 Movement — Hand-wind mechanical chronoghaph with date and moonphase. The dial is pie pan 40mm Maxbill’s Bauhaus style with a dome acrylic crystal. 20mm lug width, 44mm compact lug to lug, 16mm high. The size really suits me a small 6.25" wrist. Signed crown shape like an anchor with GB text. 50m water resistance with a display case back. Can come in colors Rose gold-Champagne, Rose gold-Black, Steel-Champagne, Steel-Black, Steel-Blue.

My Review

It’s actually a great watch I have it for 3 years and it’s accurate around +6sec per day. I dome crystal looks good but easy to get scatch. Mine got my first scar after 3 days of wearing it and can buff out using Polywatch. I dial design simple borrow from Junghans Max Bill Chronoscope. The 4 complicates placed balance on the dial. The chronograph buttons engage well with click feedback. The column wheel movement is the best to look at to see how it work. The leather strap is not good. The height on the watch sat tall not slim as I always like. I enjoy hand-wind it every day. As much as I want to recommend this watch to everyone, I cannot find it anymore.

On my wrist

--

--