GEEKTHINK— A minimal thin watch from AliExpress

Artiya
ACCUWA
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2021

--

I was a normal person that just use the watch to tell the time before a start collecting it. I work on the computer most of the time and basically no benefit from a wristwatch but somehow I like to have something nice on the wrist. I saw a minimal watch on Instagram quite often and the brand is Danial Wellington. The most infamous fashion watch band. It is looking good in the photos but the price is too expensive. I would never spend more than $10 just for something that can tell time. I got a phone, smart band, sit in front of the computer, $100 for the simple Danial Wellington watch is not justified. My watch at the time is a $7 brass watch from a flea market and it got water in it just from the rain.

I like the simple thin Daniel Wellington design to replace the old one, and I like it to be cheap. So I found many cheap watches like DW on AliExpress and the only brand that stands out from cheap DW copy is Geekthink. It got its own brand that reminds me that I’m a geek. I would buy one just for sake of the name.

The spec and detail

The Geekthink minimal thin watch looks like DW but it not actually direct copy DW in many aspects. It uses a different movement Seiko VJ20 instead of Miyota in DW. The dial is a bit bigger at 41mm vs 40mm and the marker on the hour mark is shape like a tooth instead of a simple bar line on DW. The minute hand reached over the minute marks, make it useful to estimate the second of a minute even lack of the second hand. The crown is larger and the leather band is soft and thin, GEEKTHINK text on the buckle. The body of Geekthink is alloy steel, not stainless steel. Basic mineral glass and 6.7mm thin. 20mm lug width, ~48mm long lug to lug.

I bought the black one for around $15, it a big step up from the last one. It served me for a year and I bought a second one for a cool wooden red dial. I gave the black one to a friend and he said water got in it when he rode a motorcycle to a rainstorm. I bought a white dial and a black dial again from the different sellers and platforms which cheaper prices and I notice many flaws from the quality control like yellow tint on the mark, dust inside the dial. I just got lucky for the first one. and I broke the wooden dial when I try to thinker with the watch and found that you cannot remove the movement from the back of the case. The white dial doesn’t have any problem. I keep this one in my collection the other is throwaway to trash.

GEEKTHINK watch on my 6.25" wrist.

Would I recommend it?

No — It’s great for the look and design but the quality of the watch is not good. But it is a good start for me for the hunt for an affordable watch collection. You may get lucky to get a good one.

Link: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_A8I9ro

--

--