Blessed & Highly Favored: A Dream Like Ode to the Clark Sisters & Gospel Music

Kulwa Apara
Acento Africano
Published in
6 min readSep 11, 2020

I had an incredible dream last night…it was so deep and nuanced. I won’t get into the details of the dream for now, but I will speak on one of the characters. She was a beautiful brown skin woman of Ethiopian descent that I met at the bank. She was heavy-set with a boisterous vibe, and you could tell she knew how to fight despite her vibrant demeanor…(Don’t blame me for noting this, I went to urban public schools, and us girls had to know how to defend ourselves and quickly size people up). Anyhow, we start chit-chatting in the bank line, and I discovered she was the third generation of her family born in the DC / Maryland area — she had recently relocated to Oakland. I welcomed her to Oakland, and conveyed my appreciation for her “Chocolate City” hometown… And this is where the dream officially becomes Bay Area awkward, in a weird yet magical way.

Randomly, the Ethiopian sis begins singing “Blessed and Highly Favored” by the Clark Sisters. The young lady is literally blowing (as the OGs would say). I mean she is singing for the ANCESTORS! Belting this song at the top of her lungs while casually waiting in the bank line. Her delivery of the song was giving me chills, and all these goosebumps start forming on my arms. I was thinking to myself, “Girl, we at the bank, not Allen Temple Baptist Church”! But I was so moved by her delivery, that I chose to ignore the scene she was making and receive the blessing.

I inquired as to who taught her this epic song by the Clark Sisters, which is a popular gospel staple in the African-American community. She shared that she and her mother had the same choir teacher when they were in high school, and this was one of the songs the choir teacher always taught. Hence, the song had been a part of her family for the past two generations.

She then went on to say how this choir teacher taught her NOT to ever take life for granted, and to always push and dig deeper despite the obstacles of the world. I then shared about my favorite high school teacher, Ms. Wolfe, who instilled similar principles within me.

Then suddenly, as though hit by a spirit, the woman began singing the song again, while holograms of our teachers appeared floating around the bank. The songstress began gracefully moving through the bank, blessing every corner with the following tunes bellowing from the pit of her stomach:

He brought me through hard trials

He brought me through tribulations

Never let a day go by and not realize

Had it not been for the Lord who was on my side

Back was against the wall

He looked out for me

He heard my cry and rescued me

Never let a day go by and not realize we are blessed

Don’t take it for granted that we are here today

Just know that we’re blessed and highly favored

(Blessed & Highly Favored, 1990 Grammy Award: Written by Karen Clark Sheard, The Clark Sisters)

There is more to the dream…but I am not ready to share those pieces just yet. Needless to say, I awakened feeling thankful for teachers, thankful for gospel music, and thankful for my dreams. I have been singing this song all day. Today it is my mantra, tomorrow it might be something else. I am not sure why the dream world decided to bless me with this song, but I am so grateful it came.

God put a calling on The Clark Sisters to create and share this composition. They obeyed, and years later the song is still blessing lives. Truly, blessings don’t expire.

Bendecido y Altamente Favorecido: Una Oda de
Sueño a Las Clark Sisters y la Música Gospel

Anoche tuve un sueño increíble… fue tan profundo y lleno de matices. No entraré en los detalles del sueño por ahora, pero hablaré sobre uno de los personajes del sueño. Era una hermosa mujer de piel morena de ascendencia etíope que conocí en el banco. Ella era corpulenta con una vibra bulliciosa, pero se notaba que sabía cómo pelear a pesar de su comportamiento vibrante … (No me culpes por notar esto, fui a escuelas públicas urbanas y nosotras chicas teníamos que saber defender nosotras mismas y evaluar rápidamente a los demás). De todos modos, comenzamos a charlar en la línea bancaria y descubrí que ella era la tercera generación de su familia nacida en el área de DC / Maryland; y recientemente se había mudado a Oakland. Le di la bienvenida a Oakland y le transmití mi agradecimiento por su ciudad natal “Chocolate City” … Y aquí es donde el sueño se vuelve oficialmente Área de la Bahía rara, de una manera extraña pero mágica.

De repente, la mujer etíope comienza a cantar “Blessed and Highly Favored” por Las Clark Sisters. La señorita está literalmente soplando (como dirían los viejitos). ¡Quiero decir, que ella está cantando para los ANCESTROS! Cantando esta canción a todo pulmón, mientras espera casualmente en la fila del banco. Su interpretación de la canción me estaba dando escalofríos, y se me empezó a poner la piel de gallina en mis brazos. Estaba pensando a mí misma, “¡Nena, estamos en el banco, no en la Iglesia Bautista de Allen Temple!” Pero como estaba tan conmovida por su canto, decidí ignorar la “escena” que ella estaba haciendo y recibir la bendición.

Pregunté quién le enseñó esta canción épica por Las Clark Sisters, que es un elemento fundamental del evangelio popular en la comunidad afroamericana. Ella compartió que ella y su madre tenían la misma maestra de coro cuando estaban en la escuela secundaria, y esta era una de las canciones que la maestra de coro siempre les enseñaba. Por lo tanto, la canción había sido parte de su familia durante las últimas dos generaciones.

Luego continuó diciendo cómo esta maestra le enseñó a NO dar la vida por sentada, y a empujar y profundizar siempre, a pesar de los obstáculos del mundo. Luego le hablé de mi maestra de secundaria favorita, la Sra. Wolfe, quien me inculcó principios similares.

Repentinamente, ella comenzó a cantar la canción nuevamente, y aparecieron hologramas de nuestras dos maestras flotando alrededor del banco. Ella comenzó a moverse con gracia por el banco, bendiciendo cada rincón con las siguientes melodías que bramaban desde la boca del estómago:

Me hizo pasar por duras pruebas
Me hizo pasar por tribulaciones
Nunca dejes pasar un día y no te des cuenta
Si no hubiera sido por el Señor que estaba a mi lado
La espalda estaba contra la pared
El me cuidó
Escuchó mi llanto y me rescató
Nunca dejes pasar un día sin darte cuenta de que somos bendecidos
No des por sentado que estamos aquí hoy
Solo debes saber que somos bendecidos y muy favorecidos

(Blessed & Highly Favored, 1990 Premio Grammy: Escrito por Karen Clark Sheard, The Clark Sisters)

Hay más en el sueño… pero no estoy lista para compartir las otras piezas todavía. No hace falta decir que me desperté de este sueño sintiéndome agradecida por los maestros, agradecida por la música gospel y agradecida por mis sueños. He estado cantando esta canción todo el día… hoy esta es mi mantra, mañana podría ser otra. No estoy segura de por qué el reino de los sueños decidió a bendecirme con esta canción, pero estoy muy agradecida de que haya llegado.

Dios hizo un llamado a Las Clark Sisters para crear y compartir esta composición. Ellas obedecieron, y años después la canción sigue bendiciendo vidas. En verdad, las bendiciones no expiran.

--

--

Kulwa Apara
Acento Africano

Champion of the dispossessed and disregarded: Follow me as I strive to gain insight from this ghetto hot mess known as the human experience.