Melbourne Street Life

Art, culture, and coffee.

Garth Hughes-Odgers
Travel and Teach and Learn
2 min readJun 12, 2017

--

Fabulous Street Art

I really love the lanes around Federation Square in Melbourne. There’s so much fabulous street art! Lots of people think that this kind of art (graffiti) should be illegal, but Melbournians don’t. They’ve turned graffiti into a vibrant art form. The local government has given public space to artists to show their work and it’s wonderful for me because it’s free!

Hosier Lane

Fed Square is the best meeting place in Melbourne. I always meet my friends there, and then we walk to Hosier Lane to see what’s new. The street art changes all the time. Artists often paint over each other’s work, so some paintings last for a few weeks and some for a few months. If you come to Melbourne, you shouldn’t miss out on the fabulous street art.

Coffee anyone?

Melbourne has a great cafe culture. We always stop at that cool cafe, Pushka, for bagels and coffee because they’re fantastic. I love the atmosphere.

--

--

Garth Hughes-Odgers
Travel and Teach and Learn

I am an English Teacher from Melbourne, Australia. I love living in Hanoi and learning about Vietnam!