You Are Bigger Than Your Beliefs -You Made It All Up!

Toni-Lee Hazlett
Achology
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2019

One of the concepts I enjoy mulling about in my mind is the idea of ‘Pre-suppositions” for life. I view them as ‘clues’ to guide me when working with people as a helping practitioner.

A pre-supposition that I have operated from for many years is:
“YOU MADE IT ALL UP. YOU ARE BIGGER THAN YOUR BELIEFS.’

When I first heard this, it honestly ticked me off. I thought, ‘You mean I’m making it all up? When I’m challenged, feeling small, and scared — you mean I made it all up?

Life is happening all the time, no doubt about it. In all of its glory and tragedies! And in response to life, we always attach the meaning & significance of what happens to us through our beliefs.

‘I’ am making up a story about the meaning of what happens, so then there must be a part of me that is bigger than the story that is being made up!
Who I am is more significant than my beliefs.

If this is true for me, you and everyone — then why not make stories that support us in experiencing peace about what is happening. I have bought into the story that there is a time and place for sadness, anger, and heck even rage at times. But I do not believe we were meant to stay in those emotions for long. And when I can become conscious about the story I tell myself, I can quickly leverage myself towards fulfilment, peace and even joy.

We do not need to be stuck with what stories we were told as a child, or at any other time in our lives. Our work becomes, asking ourselves, “How have I set up my life & emotions? What are the stories I like to tell myself?” One of the most liberating experiences I have had is letting go of the old rehearsed narrative script of who I ‘thought’ I was.

I was not that person who believed she ‘wasn’t wanted’ or ‘needed to stay small to be safe’. I am wanted, I am loved, I am supposed to be here, I have a purpose, I am being guided, and when I share who I am I give others permission to share who they are!

If we change just one individual, singular belief, we can improve the quality of our day-to-day lives in an instant! Its control over you is gone, and you can radically direct your future in a new way.

If we are making it up & if that story is NOT supporting you, then it is time to do something different!

Qu) What are some Pre-Supposed truths that you subscribe to that make you a more effective person/helper of people?

The Achologist is the official online publication for Achology, the Academy of Modern Applied Psychology for professional practitioners and life coaches.

--

--

Toni-Lee Hazlett
Achology

Are you ready to take your life to the next level? If you are willing to take action and do the work, then let’s get started!