How to overcome Procrastination using Pomodoro technique?

Yasir Hussain
Pomodoro
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2019

“You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”
Abraham Lincoln

Pomodoro is the Time Management technique which was developed by Francesco Cirillo in 1980’s that can be used to enhance your time management skills. Main idea behind pomodoro technique is to avoid procrastination and improve continuity in work.

Pomodoro Timer

How?

Pomodoro is actually Italian for tomato and its actually a timer which is used to set time for any work which helps you to focus on your work so that you can complete it in time.

Time management

Methodology

At first, you will set timer for 25 minutes. Now start managing your work by avoiding all distractions and focusing on your work for straight 25 minutes. And after finishing your work in this time, you may get some reward for yourself.

Application

As I am reading research articles nowadays for research purpose and it takes me about 2 hours to cover one article. But today when I started an article while setting pomodoro timer for 25 minutes and setting my cellphone on silent, I was able to complete it within 40 minutes. It was mainly because of enhanced concentration on paper rather than social media or other stuff.

Review

Pomodoro technique helped me boost my productivity and in overcoming procrastination. Moreover, It also established sense of urgency in me. Henceforth, I will suggest this technique to all those struggling with time management and procrastination.

--

--