#LifeAtAIQ for a Remote AIQ Engineer, Part I

Naveen Korandla
ActionIQ Tech Blog
Published in
3 min readNov 1, 2022

Our very own Naveen and John take the keyboard for this two part series. This is Naveen’s take on “A Day in the Life of a Remote AIQ Engineer” and John’s take can be found here.

Hello, my name is Naveen Korandla, I’m a DevOps Tech Lead here at AIQ. I’m originally from India where I was born and lived until undergrad. I moved to the US for my Master’s mainly driven by curiosity to explore the world. After completing my Master’s I worked in Media, E-commerce and Life Sciences in and around New York City. New York provided me the opportunity to meet people from different cultures and, of course, get the best food. :) I received a few offers along with AIQ about a year ago and it was AIQ’s emphasis on culture and the founders’ vision to enable businesses to perform better that were the main driving forces for me to accept the offer. I also knew I would have the chance to work alongside really good engineers to solve problems.

What does a typical day look like for you as an Engineer at AIQ?

A typical day for me involves working on current sprint tasks, attending meetings related to current sprint work and working with my manager to prioritize work for future sprints. The great thing about AIQ is that managers are very supportive and care about employee well-being and give the freedom to employees to be autonomous. I can plot out my projects and timeline in a way that helps me maintain a work-life balance. My manager genuinely reminds me to take vacation time to prevent burnout and maintain a work-life balance which is a rarity these days. Overall AIQ has built a healthy and sustainable work culture that enables engineers to work effectively and be productive at the same time.

Home Office Set Up

How does collaboration look as a remote employee?

I came with expectations that it will be tough during the first 2–3 months to get to know how the organization works but the onboarding process is very comprehensive. New hires get to meet all the teams and get to know what they work on which is very helpful. Zoom and Slack allowed me to collaborate with the rest of the engineers in the organization effectively. For critical and time-sensitive work I use Zoom to collaborate but for non-urgent work I use Slack to collaborate asynchronously. AIQ goes to great lengths to provide really good remote employee experience, an example being a stipend to help set up your work from home “office”. The People Team is working hard to provide great remote employee experience with organizing monthly culture events, All Hands meetings, and off-sites where employees fly in from across the country.

ActionIQ brings order to Customer Experience (CX) chaos. Our CX Hub empowers everyone to be a CX champion by giving business teams the freedom to explore and take action on customer data, while helping technical teams regain control of where data lives and how it is used. We are backed by top-tier VCs Andreessen Horowitz, Sequoia Capital, March Capital, and First Mark Capital. Enterprise brands such as Autodesk, Acrisure, Washington Post, Neiman Marcus, Hertz, and many more use our CX Hub to drive growth through extraordinary customer experiences.

Learn more at https://www.actioniq.com/

Read our product blog at https://www.actioniq.com/blog/

Explore our career openings at https://www.actioniq.com/careers/

Want to get in touch? Contact us: https://www.actioniq.com/contact-us/

--

--