Letting Go of The Future in Our Heads

To Make Room For the Future That’s Coming

--

Picture from Author

This was our beautiful tree before it fell over… twice. The first time was a complete surprise. One minute it was standing and the next it was toppled amidst the shattered remains of some of my favorite, heirloom ornaments. The ornaments that I carefully wrap in bubble plastic and store away in special boxes so that someday, SOMEDAY, I can pass them on to my son and he and his future family can enjoy them the way we did.

Naturally, this happened during a crucial stage of dinner prep. I was making lobster pasta and didn’t want to overcook it. I mean, have you seen the price of lobster? So we quickly righted the tree and my husband got the vacuum.

I wasn’t back to my pasta sauce for more than 20 seconds when it crashed to the floor again. Really?

Whatever ornaments weren’t smashed in the first fall got destroyed in the second fall.

There went my son’s future Christmases… deep breath. Inhale. Exhale. Let it go. The truth is my son’s future Christmases aren’t in any danger. He and his future family are going to be just fine without the ornaments I was saving. It’s my idea of his future Christmases that I needed to let go of.

But isn’t that what actors deal with every day? We get knocked down, we get back up. Then somebody takes notice, Dolls us up and puts us on show for a minute. Or maybe we audition for something we really, really want but don’t get, and then something better comes along. We’re constantly reinventing ourselves and our futures, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

We’re all beautiful (with or without ornaments) because we keep getting up and trying again. Actors are some of the most resilient people I know. I wish you all lots of laughter and love.

Keep dreaming. Keep working. Keep shining.

And, as they say in Germany, have a wonderful slide into 2023 everyone!

--

--

Anne Alexander-Sieder www.actorsatelier.com
Actors — Time to Fly

Anne is an American actor and screenwriter living and working in Germany. I've restarted my life several time from scratch and lived to write about it.