--

Nancy Bishop, (CSA) is originally from the Midwest and now splits her time between her casting office in London and her casting office in Prague. She’s been in the film business for over 25 years and has cast major films such as Mission Impossible — Ghost Protocol, Bourne Identity, Hellboy, Snowpiercer, and Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, just to name a few. She has also worked with directors such as Roman Polanski, Peter Greenaway, Neil Burger, and Michael Apted. Nancy is an Emmy Award-nominated casting director and her TV credits include SyFy’s Dune, 12 Monkeys, and Blood Drive.

Copyright Nancy Bishop

On top of that, she’s written three books about auditioning for actors: her most recent book, Auditioning for Film and Television: A Post #MeToo Guide, is recommended by Donald Sutherland who says he read it cover to cover and then bought copies for all his kids. She’s also written: Auditioning for Film and Television: Secrets from a Casting Director, and Secrets from the Casting Couch: On Camera Strategies For Actors From A Casting Director.

So, I was thrilled when she took time out of her busy schedule to answer a few questions. I have to say, over the years I’ve had several chances to get to know Nancy and she’s always been approachable and down to earth. If you happen to meet her out in public, she’s happy to be greeted in a normal, social way but you can skip the formalities such as “Ms. Bishop” and just call her Nancy.”

Q. What is your preferred method of meeting new actors?

I see new actors in films, plays, and showcases. Occasionally there is a specially organized “speed dating” event. Sometimes agents introduce me. I do monologue contests for charity. For example, CSA (Casting Society of America) does “Meals for Monologues” as well.

If you’d like to know more about how you can participate in Nancy’s Monologue for Charity challenges, I’ve linked to her website and social media below.

Q. What’s the best way for an actor to get on your radar?

By doing good work and not waiting for the phone to ring. They are welcome to invite me to their performances. [Though] I can’t guarantee that I can always come.

Q. How do you prefer actors to stay in touch with you?

I don’t mind the occasional email. If there’s a specific invitation or piece of news… Like an invitation to a show or to tell me they just landed a certain role or award. I can’t really respond when people just randomly send me reels, CVs, short films, or whatever. I get about ten emails per day from actors with random material and I can’t watch it all.

Q. I’m curious about how you prepare to cast a role… I’m sure for some characters, a particular actor that you think is right will pop into your head but what about when that doesn’t happen? Do you generally start with a wide net of general auditions and then work your way to a short list based on the director’s feedback?

It depends… Sometimes we need a “valuable actor” to greenlight the film. In those cases, I make a list with the director and producers and we make straight offers to the agents until we get a hit. In the case of the supporting cast, I have a conversation with the director and make sure we’re on the same page about the concept of the role. Then I make a list of my own and then I may post the breakdown on a database where agents can respond with suggestions.

Q. Apart from being prepared for an audition, is there anything else you expect (or hope) to see?

Actors should bring themselves and their own energy to the role. When an actor is actually cast, they may do more research into the nuances of how the character would be portrayed, but for the audition, it’s really more like a rehearsal. It’s a rough draft of the performance itself. We’re looking for how your personal chemistry combines with the words in the script to bring forth the role and move the story forward.

Q. I’m sure you’ve had some amazing auditions… Did they have anything in common? If so, what? Is there one audition that really stands out as being exceptional?

Great auditions are not always so momentous. I recently heard a quote from Reese Witherspoon where she said something like acting is just listening and behaving as the character would. So I’ve seen many great auditions… When the actor was simply doing their job and telling us the character's story. Some of these didn’t result in getting the actor the role, but that doesn’t mean they weren’t great.

Q. We can’t talk about the best without talking about the worst… Do any auditions stand out as being particularly bad or funny (not in a good way)? Did they have anything in common?

I only want to say that if an actor is auditioning for an important film or TV role and if they display their hands to me in the introduction as if they’re auditioning for a soap commercial, I would probably not bother to watch the rest of the audition. If you do that, you’re telling me that you're a commercials actor. There is nothing wrong with acting in commercials but know that in films we’re casting you — not your hands.

Q. If you were to introduce yourself and not include the fact that you’re a casting director, what would you want someone to know about you?

Anyone who follows me on social media will see that I love my dog and skiing.

Q. If you could only ever watch three movies for the rest of your life, which ones would you choose?

Reds

Life of Brian

Not sure what else…

Q. What are you watching now?

I’m always watching something for a jury that I’m on. Right now I’m trying to finish up film finalists for the European Film Academy and then I have to get through the BAFTA selections.

Q. Is there anything you’d like to add?

Stay well-lubricated in your craft. That means constantly creating work, taking classes, or offering classes to others.

Nancy’s Facebook Page

www.nancybishopcoaching.com

Twitter: @NancyBishopCast

Instagram: @nancybishopcasting

For more on casting directors https://medium.com/@annealexandersieder/what-actors-need-to-know-about-casting-directors-78f1dd719697

--

--

Anne Alexander-Sieder www.actorsatelier.com
Actors — Time to Fly

Anne is an American actor and screenwriter living and working in Germany. I've restarted my life several time from scratch and lived to write about it.