--

My Ad Discovery workshop experience/ Project E-planning app

Hello everyone and Welcome to my Medium page!

Here is my story about the experience that I had from the AD Discovery Workshop of this semester which is created by our professor and advisor Miss Betty Tsakarestou , who is Assistant Professor at the Department of Communication Media and Culture at Panteion University of Athens,and also the experience and fine moments that I had with my colleagues and friends Stavros, Lydia, Catherine, Xenia and Joanna during our challenge to come up with an innovative and interesting idea for a startup company.

Shall I begin?

First day at the Discovery lab Ms. Tsakarestou explained to us the theme and the goals of this new curse, each of us were about to create a startup company working together with our colleagues and we were about to present our work at the end of the semester. We introduced ourselves to everyone, as lots of students were Erasmus and then we created groups based on the interests we have in our professional life. That’s how I met my Erasmus friends Stavros and Lydia, — as I already knew Xenia, Joanna and Catherine.

During our first meeting we had a mini brainstorming and Stavros came up with an idea! We were about to create an event-planning company! The name of this company ‘’Mix & Match’’ was Catherine’s idea and I’m sure she is going to tell you exactly how she came up with it in her beautiful story ( Katerina Tsigarida), while Stavros designed the company’s logo.

So, where was I? Oh yes! Our second meeting and our first challenge! In this meeting we were trying to find — through a brainstorming ,a big one this time- which is going to be our campaigns theme.. We did find some ideas all of them about philanthropist actions and I came up with the idea of the Rhino Campaign . We presented this idea after I and Joanna designed and built the official page of our campaign (http://mixandmatchpr.wix.com/startupnow ) as she is going to tell you at her story ( Ιωάννα Θανάση). But then at the third and fourth meeting someone would say that we had a problem… It was very difficult to find a way to actually make this campaign and we had practical problems. We were stuck with a nice idea which we couldn’t make it real in Greece…not easily or in time anyway! And here is the thing; an excellent opportunity to help me find new ideas came from no-where! A conference about ‘’New Media and Entrepreneurship’’ with colloquiums about startups at my university (Panteion university of Athens). There it was! I finally had an innovative idea! We were about to make an application which will help our clients design and decorate virtually the dreamy event for them. I presented my idea to my group and they liked it! We presented our idea and every task we had been given from our advisor to our colleagues and they seemed to like it too. One of the tasks that we had was to follow OpenIdeo’s stractures and present our application the way our clients see it. So we made a user’s eperience map following the steps we found at the OpenIdeo Resources.

So back to the app, the steps are easy and user friendly in order to be a pleasant experience for our clients. I also designed the app and I worked as an Art Director with a professional graphic designer. Here it’s a mini video I made to present you our application! Enjoy it!

After that we had to make a final presentation about our work and app in a more professional way so all together we summarize everything we wanted to be included at the power point and Xenia(Xenia Ntavranoglou), Joanna and Stavros created the power point. Stavros has marvelous power point skills and he made the power point kind of animated in order to be more interesting for the audience. He may mention it to his great story ( Stavros Poyiadjis).

Last but not least , my girls Xenia , Lydia, Catherine and Joanna who were our communication managers were the ones who created and managed our social media during the whole semester, Lydia also searched the market in order to help us how to make our app more user friendly-here is here story for her experience ( Lydia Chrysanthou) .

Thank you my friends and colleagues for this experience, Thank you for trusting me and chose me to be your coordinator and leader! Stavros and Lydia we are going to miss you! Thank you everyone for your collaboration!

--

--

Danai Kontitsi
AD DISCOVERY — CREATIVITY Stories by ADandPRLAB

Studying Communication Media and Culture at Panteion University of Athens | Interested in Advertising , Marketing, PR and Radio Production