Why Art?

Lawrence Lee AKA NotoriousGangOfOne
Ad Infinitum
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2016

Art is both produced and viewed in context, and understanding those contexts may be vital to full intellectual enrichment. But in my view, the best art is that which transcends politics and culture and context altogether.

I know near nothing about the daily lives and dreams of those who drew the Lascaux beasts, but that does not diminish my connection with them through the marks they left in darkness. A lover’s form and voice will alter over time, but their touch in a darkened room will remain the same until the brain itself begins to drift away.

Art offers opportunities to connect with another mind.

I believe that art to be best which grabs your mind by its root and looses a pulse through your being with a note so high and clear and so low and strong that it makes you quake with connection to other — and thus to same.

Else, why bother?

--

--

Lawrence Lee AKA NotoriousGangOfOne
Ad Infinitum

i’ve made a good living as a professional artist for over forty years. Now, I’m reinventing myself.