Diabetic Cyborg Life 04/05: Urethral False Passages

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
2 min readApr 5, 2022
Urethral angulation, false passage production and how to avoid it. Source

A tragic side effect of intermittent self-catheterization is my partially paralyzed neurogenic bladder. As Google and Urology Health will show urethral false passages:

“The false passage may occur at the site of the external sphincter, just distal to the prostate. Urethral trauma or injury can occur in both men or women due to the use of a poorly lubricated catheter or forcible catheterization in a urethra, causing spasms.”

The time the ER nurse said I “will not hurt anything in there,” was sadly mistaken. A curved tipped self-catheter when I need to drain my bladder is how I will have to do it now. The “Coudé Catheters” are the solution that I will have to seek out and use now, or I can use the pictured method.

Thankfully my urologist was able to get a “foley catheter” in my bladder with the help of a wire and scope to guide the tip into me. Foley catheters are the ones that are left in the bladder and drain all urine automatically.

These do carry a risk of infection and are usually removed after a week or less and require a bag to be worn on one’s leg or a bag that hangs nearby.

It seems the strange medical possibilities are almost always promised when I am the patient.

--

--

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg

Muslim, Swifty, Optimist, Conscientious objector. Happily 💍 since 10/6/21 & 1/17/22. Here since 2016