Diabetic Cyborg Life 04/23: The Perpetual Late Bloomer

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
2 min readApr 23, 2022
Fatema and I our wedding night. (Photo by Fatema)

My entire life was always a step late or behind all cohorts of my age. Well, I began public school at 5 when most were 6, but that’s the one instance where I was ahead in age in my class. Later, I took until I was 17 to get to drive a car and get my driver’s license when most of my cohorts had it in hand at 15 or 16.

Then more impactful, I started college at 17, yes still technically early, but had diabetes, didn’t know it and dropped out for a year until I was 23. At that age I could claim independence from my parents, Mom’s, income and get full financial aid for college. I was poor as sin so I had no issues getting the full Pell grant.

Then on the love side of my life, I never had a girlfriend or lover until I got married at 38. A late bloomer is how I would define much of my existence.

Yet, I don’t feel cheated or lacking in finding my way a little slower than most.

I took my time to find love and did Allah get me an angel when I did.

Facebook provided my channel to Fatema, and Allah made our paths cross when she saw a 365-challenge group video I shared on my profile. She thought I was cute and friended me.

I added her since at least that’s one cute face I get to see on Facebook.

You know this part of my story, chats, emails, and corresponds later we are married and happy.

So, being the perpetual late bloomer worked out pretty, okay in the end.

--

--

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg

Muslim, Swifty, Optimist, US/Af.Am. History Instructor. Conscientious objector. Happily 💍 since 10/6/21 & 1/17/22. Here since 2016