Diabetic Cyborg Life 12/22: Names & Anti-Trans Bigotry in Texas

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
2 min readDec 22, 2022
Texas driver licenses and identification cards, both compliant (star) and non-compliant (no star) Source

As it should not amaze anyone, it should not surprise anyone that gender identity and sexuality are a subject to be intolerant towards. I changed my name from my birth name for religious reasons, and I must amend my 1983 birth certificate to my new name. Texas, as many states have the Texas ``Real ID” for flights to travel by air into and out of the state.

In this program, the name on a driver’s license must match the birth certificate for the person that holds the license. This measure wrecks anti-trans anti-freedom by “conservative freedom loving” Texas GOP members. The bible thumping gun toting cousin dating good ol’ boys of the Texas Republican party wants to suppress the freedom of people to change their names.

Texas attorney general’s office sought state data on transgender Texans, this headline from the Texas Turbine shows it went much deeper than just limiting transgender Texans ability to fly.

It seems, “Republican leaders in the state have been publicly marshaling resources against transgender Texans.”

So much for “small government” and “freedom” among Texas to do what they do with their names and bodies.

For me, it’s a simple process to get my new name on the birth certificate to match my new one, but for transgender Texans, the plot against them thickens.

--

--

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg

Muslim, Swifty, Optimist, Conscientious objector. Happily 💍 since 10/6/21 & 1/17/22. Here since 2016