Diabetic Cyborg Life 12/25: Christmas 2019

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
2 min readDec 25, 2019
Our tree in all its glory!! (Photo by Jamie)

Life with what is thought to be secondary progressive multiple sclerosis or SPMS, and for sure with cervical stenosis with myopathy, or CSM is no fun. Having a central nervous system, or CNS that is coming apart as I write is scary as you might assume it is. Being in a joyful holiday frame of mind with these terrifying illnesses and a major depressive disorder, or MDD in remission requires a couple of things.

The first is a good antidepressant that stops that inner monologue from getting too sardonic in tone. That bastard can be a bear to keep positive when times are hard.

The other thing that aids my positive outlook is one simple belief: That naïve thought is faith. Not faith in God or any deity, but faith in myself and humanity. Know what I and my forebearers overcame to have me right here right now is a trust that keeps me positive. As I spoke of yesterday, a trust in human kindness can make the belief in hope a powerful tool that helps quiet anxiety, doubt and any thoughts that the future is pointless.

Simply having faith in humankind and that we and all we represent, families' ancestors and all, are enough to face whatever the future can throw at us!

--

--

Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg
Adam, The Diabetic Cyborg

Muslim, Swifty, Optimist, US/Af.Am. History Instructor. Conscientious objector. Happily 💍 since 10/6/21 & 1/17/22. Here since 2016