Sketch to Painting: Mother and Child

amy marie adams
Adams Art
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2018

Sometimes an artwork is created based on an old idea. Sometimes an idea waits for the right time. This summer looking through some older sketches of ideas of paintings that were waiting to be made, this painting came to being.

Mother and Child, tempera & acrylic on wood panel (50x37cm), 2016
© Amy Adams Art

The original sketch was inspired by a woman and her child that I knew many years ago. They were experiencing personal struggles and the idea was to show them fleeing from them. Which is not what happened. They were split apart. It is not a direct representation of them from real life, the figures are from my imagination.

Oddly though the idea to me seems more fitting today as so many refugees are fleeing their countries because of the devastation caused by their fellow human beings and the recent images in the news influenced my decision to create this painting. However, I wasn’t even concious of the choice at the time, and it came into being.

Sketch of original idea shown amongst other work materials

Let me know what you think in the comments. Thank you for taking the time to read about and view my art. If you want to see more subscribe to my posts here and/or find me on Instagram and Twitter. You can contact me when you click here.

#painting #drawing #modernart #contemporaryart #artmatters #motherandchild #artwork #art #kunst #kunstwerk #refugees #tempera #acrylic #makeart

Originally published at www.amyadamsart.com.

--

--

amy marie adams
Adams Art

editor mindful soul center magazine, fine artist (MFA painting), periodic code warrior, supreme lover of dogs, epic gardener, and sometime yoga goddess RYT-200