How I Use Adaptability

Nick Piscitello
Adapt It
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2017

Like any other full time college student, my life is full of unexpected twists and turns. To try to stay ahead, I use adaptability to my advantage. It is what I use to try to stay ahead of the curve.

While I believe I have always had adaptability skills, I fully know that they have been put to use immensely since being a student at the University at Buffalo. Practice is one of the key elements in developing any soft skill.

Being a college student can be very difficult at times when attempting to balance school work, a job, and a social life. My day to day plans constantly change, which is why I need to be flexible. My schedule is not rigid, where I have specific times that I set for schoolwork. Instead, I fit my schoolwork in whenever I have any bit of downtime.

Another example of myself using adaptability, at the University at Buffalo, is using what I have learned from past experiences, to ensure better results in the future. Little things I have realized, such as the fact that I tend to not do so well with early 8:00am classes; now I know better to not put them on my course schedule. Or learning that I cannot just pull in and immediately find a parking spot, I quickly learned to arrive much earlier before class times. While these may seem simple but imagine if I have never learned from these mistakes; my results at UB would be much different.

Prior to my time at University at Buffalo, I have always been accustomed to small class sizes with near 30 people and more intimate learning sessions. This completely changed. Taking classes with over 200 people was a very different experience. I had to make sure I stay on top of things, or else I would fall behind. I realized this before ever taking large classes. Part of adaptability is being proactive and identifying problems before they occur.

While being a student can be difficult at times, it is a challenge I enjoy. School certainly puts your adaptability to the test.

--

--